Fish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Added scallops and shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Yum. This is a keeper you can make if you have any leftover white fish from some other recipe. Just use whatever variety you have on hand in this. I had pollack and tilapia and it was great. I halved the recipe because it looks like it is made to feed an army and I still had a large pot of soup. I used Knorr veggie bouillon cubes for the broth instead of chicken because it is what I had and like best and I skipped the mushrooms, they are not at all necessary. Just season to taste, like most people I ended up using lots of old bay. I added a touch of smoked paprika too. Toward the end when it was time to add the evaporated milk I liked the taste so much I felt I could have just as easily omitted it and still had a great thick and rich chowder but I added it anyway. I'm sure I'll be making this a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pumpkin Pie Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
The only changes I made to this recipe were that I sautéed the vegetables in 1 Tbs butter and 2 chopped slices of thick cut bacon. I cut the fish in about a 1-2 inch dice. After 20 minutes the potatoes were overcooked and having only cooked the fish for the 10 minutes specified in the recipe the fish had completely fallen apart. I tried adding more OBS but it can't disguise the unwelcome taste of the condensed milk. Oh, and even using 2# of fish I only needed 1 can of milk. I'm shocked that so many people liked this recipe. If you're trying to cut down on fat I suggest going with a tomato based soup with clam juice and fennel seed. If it's chowder you're after, find a recipe that calls for cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Harris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Really happy with my first attempt! Family has all given it the thumbs up. Here are my notes: Used cubed Mahi and diced shrimp. My batch wanted more salt and Old Bay. Used white pepper for a spicier flavor. Wish I would have only used one can of Evaporated milk for better liquid solid ratio. Might swirl in a dash of sherry before serving. Great base recipe with so many possibilities!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
This is wonderful, especially on a cold Winter day! It's perfect as written, but I like to do half cod and half scallops. I also add some crushed red pepper toward the end of the cooking time to give it a little heat. Thanks for the recipe, AMYTHE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Used 1 can of evaporated milk and half pint of cream. Added a good shot of sherry and some nutmeg. Could also add a few red pepper flakes for a kick if you like that. How could that not be delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
This was delicious! Okay, I had to make some changes to use what I had on hand, but it turned out great. No cod, so I used today's catch...spot, black drum and whiting; husband is lactose intolerant so I substituted diary-free milk and no flour so I used Autry's seafood breader. And some fresh thyme, cilantro and parsley. Despite myself, I got rave reviews! Thank you Amythe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Toth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I made this tonight. The boss cook gave it raves. I searched the reviews and found changes to the recipe which I made. I added the spices given in one review as alternates to the proprietary one listed. Since that review gave no quantities I added a strong 1/8th tsp of the spices I favored and a scant 1/8 tsp of the ones I'm cautions with. I substituted nutmeg for mace and went with a scant 1/8th tsp on it. I added a half pound of bacon cut in 1/4 in. slivers and cooked separately. I saute'd the onions, celery, and mushrooms in the drippings. I added cooked shrimp and raw scallops. Without thinking it through, I doubled the flour in the clam juice when I thought the mix was too thin. The resulting chowder was pretty thick but acceptable, meaning the boss liked it a lot. Next time though I'll stick with the specified amount and see how that comes out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Potlatch, Idaho, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I added clams and squid, Add bacon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
This was easy and very good. I followed the recipe except I did not add mushrooms (forgot to buy them) and used 3.25% milk instead of evaporated milk. My husband and son were impressed, will make it again the same way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 382) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States