Fish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Very Good. I added a little more Old Bay than it asked for. Next time I will also add another stock of celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Mann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
this is so wonderfully good! I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of the handful of shrimp I threw in at the end. I served my chowder with shredded sharp cheese and sprinkling of onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by welldone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Elm, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Just made this the other night with chopped up tilapia and shrimp. Awesome. Use a lot of Old Bay Seasoning. What the recipe calls for, is just not enough. Serve with some french bread. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsworthen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Super! I cooked some bacon in the stock pot first (omitting the butter of course) and then cooked the onions and celery (added garlic) in the bacon fat - mmmm!. Substituted tilapia for the cod and used gluten free rice flour instead of the all purpose flour to make it a gluten free chowder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
YUM YUM YUM! Hubby is usually skeptical when i try a new recipe but this one he voted a real keeper. I used better than broth clam base and sea bass we caught out on the charter over the summer. used 2lbs fish and 1lb chopped shrimp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiemonster

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Five star recipe!!!! Tastes just like Campbell's clam chowder and restaurant clam chowder. I LOVE IT. Have made this several times, and each time it's fantastic. We don't get celery where I'm living, so I substitute chopped green bell pepper instead, and it adds a nice extra 'bite.' To lower the calorie content just a bit, I will usually cut down or eliminate the flour.... which of course takes away some of the thickness of the soup, but we all have to make sacrifices, right? :-) No clam juice readily available here, so I usually just use the fish juice from the thawing frozen fish or substitute the juice from a can of tuna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMEIST99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I used bacon as in a traditional chowder, added corn, and used more Old Bay. This is excellent. I haven't even added the milk yet, and it has such a delicious and rich flavor. Can't wait for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Just one word....... YUMMMMMMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: York, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
I'm the nameless "sister" that created this recipe in the 1980's and am thrilled it has gotten such great reviews! I didn't use Old Bay Seasoning and used white, not black, pepper, and garnished with crumbled bacon. It's still a great recipe! Enjoy tweaking it to suit your own tastes. I was honored that my recipe was included in the Allrecipes cookbook some years ago. Janet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
This is a great chowder. I followed the recipe and used cod, bay scallops, and shrimp and almost a tsp of Old Bay Seasoning. The result was very rich, creamy and delicious and a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 371) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States