Fish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
This is FANTASTIC!! I am really trying to eat a little better---and it is hard to believe that this is a low fat chowder! I brought this over for my family and they all loved it---there were no leftovers!! I used one can of fat free evaporated milk and one can of regular just to see what it would taste like and it was still wonderful!! Thank you so much for the recipe....I will be making this often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOCHNESS350

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
My version kind of had everything but the kitchen sink in it... couldn't get enough fresh Cod so I added clams, scallops, shrimp and a few other goodies we had at the house also added a can of corn... 7 yo ate it with no complaints, hubby and I both enjoyed it a lot but ended up with WAY more than what I would call the 8 servings as we had 5 bowls amongst us the first night and had to package and freeze leftovers enough to have it 2 more dinners! Definitely halving the recipe next time!!! Also adding more spices next time around... just a little bland for us but a great base to play with and make your own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
My family enjoyed this chowder. I did make a few adjustments by adding more mushrooms and celery. I also added 1 cup of corn. I did not add the clam juice (did not have). I also increased the Old Bay to 3/4 teaspoon. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Manitowoc, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I followed others recommendations and this was fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This is a great recipe, I only used chicken broth (I didn´t have any clam juice) and it still came out great. The only change I made was I sauted the fish in olive oil seasoned with garlic powder, black pepper and salt and then incorporated it to the the broth and mushrooms mixture. Will be doing it again and very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yanireth
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
not a fan of evaporated milk. it was excellent, though, when it was simmering with the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
My family loved this! I doubled the amount of celery and mushrooms and added diced green peppers. I also used seafood stock in the base for a more developed flavor and 1 cup of cream instead of the evaporated milk. Truly divine - especially when topped with smoke kissed bacon bits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Instead of Old Bay I add a dash of Crab and Shrimp Boil spice for an extra kick. Really good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magdelaine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Inyokern, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Excellent; use plenty of thyme in place of Old Bay and light cream instead of evaporated milk. Double recipe for the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Wow. Better than restaurant soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 356) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States