Fish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Very good but there is something missing. Thought it needed more flavor but over all good and I would try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Ledge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Alpena, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Great quick recipe. I usually use grouper. I add a can of clams, cayenne, and increase the chicken stock to 2 cans. Careful when cooking the potatoes, don't cook all the way. I also use 2 cooked potatoes and 1/2 c corn pureed to thicken it instead of the flour. Oh and also some fat free sour cream added at the end to make it richer. Love this recipe, easy to have all the ingredients on hand. I actually reheated and served it to company!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carefree_hwy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Best Fish chowder EVER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I LOVE this recipe. Instead of condensed milk and clam juice I added almond milk, an extra cup of flour, 3 extra celery stalks and a whole package of corn. I also added rosemary, oregano, and red pepper flakes. I highly recommend this to everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I didn't use clam juice because Hayley may be allergic to it. Used more chicken broth instead. It was better than I expected. Kids liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This was awesome. I used Tilapia instead of Cod, and Clam sauce (with garlic and herbs) instead of Clam juice. I started the fish in the slowcooker in the chicken broth while I prepped all other on the stove top, then let it all simmer and blend in the slowcooker for several hours, adding the milk in the last 2 hours. Even the kids loved it! And leftovers??? Ha! none...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
My family enjoyed this. Had to cook a bit longer as the potatoes were still quite hard after the allotted time. Added sherry at the table as we do with crab soup. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
The chowder was yummie! the second time I made it, I chopped a 1/4 lb of pepper Bacon vs butter and sauteed the veggies in this - also added a small chopped chili pepper for an extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennakah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tyngsboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Really good soup (the Old Bay seasoning is wonderful), but I did make a few changes: 1) extra Old Bay seasoning and pepper 2) use less flour and thicken with instant potatoes 3) skip the mushrooms and add roasted corn instead (sautee it in a pan with EVOO, onion, and celery) Thanks for a super yummy recipe...this will be a family favorite=:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Souper-Shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 371) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States