Fish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Used a whole gang of Old Bay and followed a reviewer's suggestion of adding whole bottle of clam juice. But it was still a bit bland for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This was my first time making fish chowder and this recipe came out great! I used low sodium broth to make up for the very salty clam juice. I think next time I might just use 1 cup evaporated milk and maybe 3 cups potatoes. I topped with turkey bacon and used a little hot sauce. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CERAWALLACE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Excellent chowder. I had a pkg. of cod that needed to come out of the freezer and a new container of Old Bay Seasoning - a match made in heaven. I used potatoes and evaporated milk in my husband's half and no potatoes and half and half in my half (Atkins diet) and no mushrooms because I didn't have any and no roux (Atkins again) with clam juice. I, instead, split a can of clams with the juice. It was so good, I still have a smile on my face.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid River, Michigan, USA
Living In: Readfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This was pretty decent, but nothing exceptional. My husband would probably give it 5 stars and I would give it 3 so we compromised at 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This was good. We all liked it. It reminded me a lot of clam chowder, but with a slightly different fish flavor. I would make this again for sure. Definitely a hardy meal that warms the belly on a cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I have been on this site for years and have never rated anything. This soup is so good and so easy that I felt like I literally had to comment. I only had 1 lb of some random white fish in the freezer and only 1 can of evaporated milk, so I was short 1 can of milk and 1 lb of fish. I added an extra cup of chicken stock to compensate. I did add in 3 cubed potatoes and a can of corn for some texture. Even missing some stuff, this chowder turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owings Mills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
we loved it! thank you for the recipe. made it per the recipe just added a splash of white wine to the saute and a couple carrots for color. oh and just for our preference we like chowders spicier (added cayenne) and on the thick side so i added a few instant potato flakes at the end to quick thicken it which was great but i think it did change the texture from what was intended, we were hungry though no time to flour thicken again. flavor was wonderful and delicate, we topped with a few french fried onions and paired with an alton brown recipe for creamed corn corn bread with a drizzle of maple syrup. yum went nicely with the spicy chowder. one thing maybe someone can tell me, but my fish sort of disappeared texture wise. i followed the recipe and i didn't have any chunks of fish. it was still really great, maybe that's how it's suppose to be. maybe i needed thicker fillets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berrien Springs, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This was a GREAT recipe! I will definitely make it again and again. I did add more seasoning than what was called for based on other reviewers. Tured out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Very good! We used a bit of extra Old Bay seasoning and added an extra tablespoon of butter at the end, but other than that followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
this recipe was quick and easy and delicious. The only thing i changed was adding more flour for thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Siracusa, Sicilia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 385) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States