Fish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
We loved, loved, loved this fish chowder. We made it with striped bass caught fresh and frozen just under two weeks. We added lots more Old Bay (husband is a Marylander)and pondered making a roux with bacon grease but opted to keep this simple - didn't want to be cooking all night. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Bern, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Excellent! Used same ingredients in crock pot to make use of some leftover baked fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
As written this recipe is 3.5-4 stars. It is a good base. However, AS IS the recipe is bland and a little "off". Once I doctored it, it was 5 stars. I noticed many (if not most) people rating with 5 stars made changes. How can you give a recipe 5 stars if you have to change it? That means the original recipe isn't a 5 star recipe...the one YOU created with changes is! *ahem, okay stepping down from soap box* LOL Anyway, I also made changes as recommended by other viewers (cooked a few slices of bacon chopped; skipped the mushrooms; cooked veggies in 1T bacon grease, 1T butter; also used fat free half and half instead of evap milk; added a LOT more OBS as well as a little cajun seasoning; used only half of the flour and instead mashed about half of the cooked potatoes with my potato masher for thickening without a goopy flour taste; and finally, garnished with fresh cut chives and that cooked, crumbled bacon...YUM). Although I did make adjustments, I still say kudos to AMYTHE for sharing this good base recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Found a pound of haddock in the freezer that was past-prime for serving plain, so got another pound of cod and combined them. First time I've made a chowder of any kind, and it came out really well, and easy to prepare! Twiddled the seasoning a small amount for my tastes and added a couple slices of chopped bacon - and some drippings - as it cooked, but as written would've been just fine, too. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dickinson, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
My husband was totally impressed with the taste when I served this chowder! So easy to make, yet the best recipe I came up with so far...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
My husband's a commercial fisherman so I'm always looking for new recipes for fish, and this one is definetely one I'll make again. I used fresh Permit(whitefish), used bacon instead of butter, and added carrots, and the whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
We all really liked this and everyone had seconds - my husband, myself and our one year old. The only change I made was I used sole instead of cod because we had some sole that needed to be used up. Also I wasn't sure whether the potatoes were supposed to be cooked or raw - I had some boiled potatoes to use up so I added them instead using raw ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Moody, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
So easy and really quite tasty! Even my 10 year old, who won't eat my favorite restaurant clam chowder, loved it. I followed the recipe to a T except I did add one small can of chopped clams. I didn't have bacon to top it with and think that would have been perfect. It was a little flat but salt at the table fixed it for me. Overall it was a huge hit and we'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Used a whole gang of Old Bay and followed a reviewer's suggestion of adding whole bottle of clam juice. But it was still a bit bland for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This was my first time making fish chowder and this recipe came out great! I used low sodium broth to make up for the very salty clam juice. I think next time I might just use 1 cup evaporated milk and maybe 3 cups potatoes. I topped with turkey bacon and used a little hot sauce. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CERAWALLACE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 383) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States