Fish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
we loved it! thank you for the recipe. made it per the recipe just added a splash of white wine to the saute and a couple carrots for color. oh and just for our preference we like chowders spicier (added cayenne) and on the thick side so i added a few instant potato flakes at the end to quick thicken it which was great but i think it did change the texture from what was intended, we were hungry though no time to flour thicken again. flavor was wonderful and delicate, we topped with a few french fried onions and paired with an alton brown recipe for creamed corn corn bread with a drizzle of maple syrup. yum went nicely with the spicy chowder. one thing maybe someone can tell me, but my fish sort of disappeared texture wise. i followed the recipe and i didn't have any chunks of fish. it was still really great, maybe that's how it's suppose to be. maybe i needed thicker fillets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berrien Springs, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This was a GREAT recipe! I will definitely make it again and again. I did add more seasoning than what was called for based on other reviewers. Tured out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Very good! We used a bit of extra Old Bay seasoning and added an extra tablespoon of butter at the end, but other than that followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
this recipe was quick and easy and delicious. The only thing i changed was adding more flour for thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Siracusa, Sicilia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Am eating my first bowl of this right now. Made it exactly as stated. Quite delicious, will make again. You have to kind of hover around the stove so that you don't overcook either the potatoes or the fish but it is worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
This is a great recipe. My mom had made a fish soup from memory and well... we all know how memory goes...lol. I used this recipe to fix it and we all had a wonderful dinner.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopkinton, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
My husband is a man of few words, but upon eating this dish he told me I had knocked dinner right outta the park. We agreed to try it next time with just 1 can of evapo milk first. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
The only changes I made were to add a lot more mushrooms. I halved the recipe for just my husband and me. It was only okay the first meal but tasted much better when we had it the second night (even halved it makes a lot). If I make it again I will use less flour as it was a little too thick and slightly "flourie"tasting which I didn't notice the second time around. Next time I will add clams and maybe some shrimp too. It needs a little more spice, but I don't know what that would be...pepper? garlic?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Very good but there is something missing. Thought it needed more flavor but over all good and I would try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Ledge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Alpena, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Great quick recipe. I usually use grouper. I add a can of clams, cayenne, and increase the chicken stock to 2 cans. Careful when cooking the potatoes, don't cook all the way. I also use 2 cooked potatoes and 1/2 c corn pureed to thicken it instead of the flour. Oh and also some fat free sour cream added at the end to make it richer. Love this recipe, easy to have all the ingredients on hand. I actually reheated and served it to company!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carefree_hwy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 369) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States