Fish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Quite good! not as creamy (aka healthier) as using half & half, but to each his own. I followed some of the other users' suggestions: increased the Old Bay Seasoning, added corn and carrots, as well as clams & scallops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I cut the recipe in half as I only had a pound of cod to work with. And I started out by making a roux by mistake as that is how I am used to making chowder. Anyway, that helped with other reviewers issues with an uncooked flour taste. I liked this recipe for it's ease...I did feel it was missing a vegetable...carrots or peas, perhaps? I'll experiment until I find the right one. But all in all a good recipe, thanks AMYTHE for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
We loved, loved, loved this fish chowder. We made it with striped bass caught fresh and frozen just under two weeks. We added lots more Old Bay (husband is a Marylander)and pondered making a roux with bacon grease but opted to keep this simple - didn't want to be cooking all night. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Bern, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Excellent! Used same ingredients in crock pot to make use of some leftover baked fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
As written this recipe is 3.5-4 stars. It is a good base. However, AS IS the recipe is bland and a little "off". Once I doctored it, it was 5 stars. I noticed many (if not most) people rating with 5 stars made changes. How can you give a recipe 5 stars if you have to change it? That means the original recipe isn't a 5 star recipe...the one YOU created with changes is! *ahem, okay stepping down from soap box* LOL Anyway, I also made changes as recommended by other viewers (cooked a few slices of bacon chopped; skipped the mushrooms; cooked veggies in 1T bacon grease, 1T butter; also used fat free half and half instead of evap milk; added a LOT more OBS as well as a little cajun seasoning; used only half of the flour and instead mashed about half of the cooked potatoes with my potato masher for thickening without a goopy flour taste; and finally, garnished with fresh cut chives and that cooked, crumbled bacon...YUM). Although I did make adjustments, I still say kudos to AMYTHE for sharing this good base recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Found a pound of haddock in the freezer that was past-prime for serving plain, so got another pound of cod and combined them. First time I've made a chowder of any kind, and it came out really well, and easy to prepare! Twiddled the seasoning a small amount for my tastes and added a couple slices of chopped bacon - and some drippings - as it cooked, but as written would've been just fine, too. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dickinson, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
My husband was totally impressed with the taste when I served this chowder! So easy to make, yet the best recipe I came up with so far...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
My husband's a commercial fisherman so I'm always looking for new recipes for fish, and this one is definetely one I'll make again. I used fresh Permit(whitefish), used bacon instead of butter, and added carrots, and the whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
We all really liked this and everyone had seconds - my husband, myself and our one year old. The only change I made was I used sole instead of cod because we had some sole that needed to be used up. Also I wasn't sure whether the potatoes were supposed to be cooked or raw - I had some boiled potatoes to use up so I added them instead using raw ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Moody, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
So easy and really quite tasty! Even my 10 year old, who won't eat my favorite restaurant clam chowder, loved it. I followed the recipe to a T except I did add one small can of chopped clams. I didn't have bacon to top it with and think that would have been perfect. It was a little flat but salt at the table fixed it for me. Overall it was a huge hit and we'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 385) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States