Fish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2015
I am from New England but now living in CO so I sure miss recipes like this. I made a few alterations and it turned out so delicious. I used smoked salt which gave it such a rich kettle flavor. Also, I added 2 teaspoons of Herbs de Provence and used only one can of milk. The finishing touch was a squeeze of Siracha. MMMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
I added a bit less than 1/2 tsp. salt, a bit more than 1/4 tsp. black pepper and near-doubled the Old Bay seasoning.. I also added a full bottle of clam juice and, in place of evaporated milk, I used half and half. (I didn't have any evaporated milk. Next time and, for sure, there will be a next time, I'll try white pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: The Villages, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
Made with almond milk and gluten free flour and was still delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Made it twice. First time followed it to a T. Second time I added a can of baby clams. No way to mess up this delicious dish. It's just outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Besada

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Great recipe! I used mahi mahi and flounder because that's what I had, and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Delicious recipe. I did use 3 slices of lean bacon . This added so much flavor to chowder. Using 1/8 tsp of bay seasoning didnt do much to the overall taste of chowder. I kept the seasoning as is to 1/8 tsp. I did add some half and half(1/4 cup) along with the evaporated milk. Im sure using 1/4 heavy cream will make it creamier and richer. If at any time you want the consistency of chowder thicker, use some corn starch mixed with water. Let the chowder boil gently to let the starch do the thickening. Thanks Amythe for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cumberland, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
None of us enjoyed this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Wiederhold

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Burt, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Followed recipe exactly & the chowder came out fine. It didn't fit the taste of my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
I had 2lbs of Mahi Mahi, but felt like a casserole or stew and this was perfect. I added some bacon and clams as well, but recipe was easy and everyone (even my daughter who doesn't like fish much) loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt Cervarich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
This was really good! I used a mixture of fish- catfish, cod and swai. I also used half and half instead of evaporated milk. I didn't use potatoes either- making it low carb and used about 3 Tb of flour instead of the half cup. Unfortunately I was out of celery, so used some chopped carrots instead and used 1 pound of fresh mushrooms chopped in half. I added some thyme and parsley and extra black pepper. This is really, really good and I plan on making it a lot! I think it would also be really good w/ either a can of creamed corn it it or some frozen corn thrown in, and maybe some bacon crumbled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yoder, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 385) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States