Fish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Apothecaryrx
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Delicious recipe. I did use 3 slices of lean bacon . This added so much flavor to chowder. Using 1/8 tsp of bay seasoning didnt do much to the overall taste of chowder. I kept the seasoning as is to 1/8 tsp. I did add some half and half(1/4 cup) along with the evaporated milk. Im sure using 1/4 heavy cream will make it creamier and richer. If at any time you want the consistency of chowder thicker, use some corn starch mixed with water. Let the chowder boil gently to let the starch do the thickening. Thanks Amythe for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cumberland, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Made this while our exchange students from Russia and Spain were with us. They were used to eating fish soup from their home countries. None of us enjoyed this soup. It has been awhile since I made it so I can not give specifics as to why we didn't like it. I do remember it was fishy tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Wiederhold

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Burt, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Followed recipe exactly & the chowder came out fine. It didn't fit the taste of my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
I had 2lbs of Mahi Mahi, but felt like a casserole or stew and this was perfect. I added some bacon and clams as well, but recipe was easy and everyone (even my daughter who doesn't like fish much) loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt Cervarich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
This was really good! I used a mixture of fish- catfish, cod and swai. I also used half and half instead of evaporated milk. I didn't use potatoes either- making it low carb and used about 3 Tb of flour instead of the half cup. Unfortunately I was out of celery, so used some chopped carrots instead and used 1 pound of fresh mushrooms chopped in half. I added some thyme and parsley and extra black pepper. This is really, really good and I plan on making it a lot! I think it would also be really good w/ either a can of creamed corn it it or some frozen corn thrown in, and maybe some bacon crumbled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yoder, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
I didn't have mushrooms, celery, or clam juice when I made it and it was still delish!! I used Swai fish instead of Cod and celery seeds to still get the taste of celery. Also, I only used about two table spoons of flour to thicken it with water. Anyway, my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Made as directed but left out the mushrooms. Very good. Seems like it needs more seasoning next time. I can understand why others added bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RivieraMaya05

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
It was very good, but needed a bit of zing! I added a little more Old Bay and some white pepper....mmmmm I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Added scallops and shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Yum. This is a keeper you can make if you have any leftover white fish from some other recipe. Just use whatever variety you have on hand in this. I had pollack and tilapia and it was great. I halved the recipe because it looks like it is made to feed an army and I still had a large pot of soup. I used Knorr veggie bouillon cubes for the broth instead of chicken because it is what I had and like best and I skipped the mushrooms, they are not at all necessary. Just season to taste, like most people I ended up using lots of old bay. I added a touch of smoked paprika too. Toward the end when it was time to add the evaporated milk I liked the taste so much I felt I could have just as easily omitted it and still had a great thick and rich chowder but I added it anyway. I'm sure I'll be making this a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pumpkin Pie Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 380) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States