Fish Chowder II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Had never made fish chowder so was looking for a good basic recipe and this is it. I used butter spray instead of butter for sauteeing onion. Provided butter for those who wished to add a pat to their bowl. Used a can of chicken broth with enough water to cover potatoes and cooked them until they were tender (red potatoes in small cubes with peels still on). Did not measure milk, but added until it looked right to me. Used talapia instead of cod. Sprinkled some Old Bay seasoning and a little cayenne into the pot and my secret ingredient for this type of dish which is a dash of cinnamon which brings out the sweetness of the corn and the milk (I don't measure, but maybe 1/4 tsp). Lip smacking good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
This is a yummy and easy recipe! I used 3 cups of water and 4 cups of milk to make it a little thicker and it was great! Thanks for the recipe! I am sure that it will be a family favorite from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Really good, I did make a few changes. I used chicken broth for water, added about 5 tbs flour to milk, added four mushrooms, 2tsp old bay seasoning,2tsp grounded black pepper, 2 stalkes celery(chopped).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATORGRAVY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Citra, Florida, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
Wish I had read the reviews, first. The flavor was good, but I wish I had poured out the water after cooking the potatoes, and only used milk. Chunkier soup is our preference. The cayenne seems like a great idea, too, so I will give that a whirl next time. This was a really good soup to be so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
I found this to be a very good chowder. I made a couple of changes I added celery and parsley flakes and because I like a thicker creamier chowder I made a rue og 3/4 C melted butter and 3/4 C flour and added with the corn and milk. I would like to see more people give their potato and onion measurements in cups as everyone has a different perspective of size. 3 potatoes could be anywhere from 3 C to 12 C and the same with onions. I used 41/2 C diced potatoes and 1 1/2 C chopped onion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
It was OK. The milk and water didn't really blend well, making it look a little unappetizing, and the cook times didn't seem long enough as my very small potato cubes still weren't very soft, and it was bland. Definately would need to add to it to make it good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
Very good! I used Halibut instead of cod, to great success, and because I didn't have creamed corn, I used canned corn and added a little sugar. I also recommend white pepper rather than black. I sprinkled cayenne pepper into the bowl before eating. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2003
I made this great fish chowder as an easy first course for my big family gathering. It was a hit. Easy and delicious. One change - next time I will use 3 cups water and 4 cups milk for a little bit thicker base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROMATTS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eveleth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
A splendid recipe as written. I like creamy anything.I added 4+1/2 cups of milk and added flour to the remaining 1/2 cup of cold milk for the additional thickening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-49 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States