Fish Chowder II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
I used some previous suggestions and it turned out great. I added 4 stalks of chopped celery, and 3 chopped carrots for color. I like a thick chowder so I only used 3 cups water and 4 cups milk. Instead of using white flour, I added 1/4 cup of whole wheat baby cereal (its more nutritious!). My family loved how it turned out so this recipe will now be a regular at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
The is a very easy and very good base from which to start..... I cut the recipe in half. Also, anytime a recipe calls for water.. I will usually substitute with a low sodium broth = more flavor... in this case 2 cups of chicken broth (didn't want an overwhelming fish taste). I also added 1/2 cup of frozen corn, because we like corn in our chowder. I only used a cup of whole milk (half recipe used) and I also added about 10 med frozen raw shrimp chopped up. Gave the chowder that pleasant undertones of a seafood base being used. This was a very good starter base thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I made this dish last night for dinner and I barely had enough for lunch today. I think I had like 2 bowls and my boyfriend had to say stop remember you want some for luch tomorrow. He had seconds as well and he does not like soups. Even our little 4 year daughter thought it was very "DELICIOUS". This dish deserves 10 stars. I work fulltime so this is right up my alley, quick and easy and extremely flavourful. I'm already planning on making it again for lunch on Friday. I just added some fish stock and a small tin of cream style corn and some coconut milk as per my boyfriend's request because he's the real Chef in our house. OH MY GOODNESS! You have to try this recipe. THIS IS OUT OF THIS WORLD. This is defintely a " KEEPER ". NO DOUBTS ABOUT THAT. ENJOY !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mommy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Belize City, Belize District, Belize
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Easy recipe, quick meal, tasty and just right... YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VICKI JO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barnesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
This is a good base but needed a little something. I added a few tablespoons of Old Bay seasoning, grated carrot and a little Tabasco. The result was very tasty! Fast, easy, inexpensive and great for those cold nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This wasn't very good. It made double the amount of servings it said it made, and the cod didn't have much flavor. The broth was good with the creamed corn and onions. I added hot sauce for some heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Very tasty, and so quick to make. I cut water and milk back, added prawns, and thickened it. I also added the grated carrot, as suggested for color. Superb, and rated 5 stars by all who ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Princeton, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I have a dozen fish chowder recipes but this is the best and easiest. I'm throwing the rest out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
I added paprika,crushed red peppers and it was pretty decent. Also only used two cups of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I followed this recipe to a T ~ it was watery and tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nepean, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Chef John's Bay Scallop Chowder

See how to make creamy chowder with scallops, potatoes, and bacon.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States