Fish Chowder I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
This meal was delicious. I have always wanted to make my own chowder. This was perfect. The next time I will put more fish in it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
Oh so very good. And it is versitile too! You can use many different kinds of fish (although something firm works best).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2001
This is a very simple, tasty recipe. I used flounder instead of haddock and it would be good with most any fish. I also used cream in place of the milk, and it had a delicious, rich flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFJULIE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
Very good fish chowder and easy to make. I did add some chicken broth instead of water to cook the potatoes in. I also added some cream instead of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
This is great and it is really easy to prepare as well. Despite being such a simple recipes, it taste wonderful. I added a little light soy sauce to enhance the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2003
I have to review this recipe again because it's just soooo good! This time, I added celery, mushrooms & scallions w/ the bacon & onion sautee, also used half & half instead of milk and chicken broth in place of the water for potatoes. I also added 1 can of corn - again I used leftovers, grilled swordfish steaks in a terriyaki marinade. I have not tried raw fish yet, but this recipe will work with anything - very versitile and absolutely perfect!! I get such great compliments on this dish, you have to try this! Thank you again for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PETRIE27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
This was very very good. I used dried beef insead of bacon to cut down on fat and it was very good. I did add some lemon juice and salt and pepper we will have this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elm Grove, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minburn, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I prepared this chowder for a church dinner for 75 people. It was a tremendous hit. Most people came back for seconds, a few for thirds. Easy to and quick to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
Great recipe, loved it, I did change a few thing, added celery, carrots, freah bay leaf and fresh thyme to the potatoe mixture. I also used 5% cream and cooked the potatoes in chicken broth. Added a little hot sauce near the end and the results were fantastic. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
We really liked this recipe. I only used 1 slice of bacon and used 6 potatoes and a little chicken bouillon in the cooking water for the potatoes. I also used tilapia because that is what I had. I just cut it in very big chunks so it wouldn't fall apart as easy and stirred it carefully after I added them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States