Fish Chowder I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
This was just like my mom made many years ago when I grew up on Long Island. I used 12 oz of cod filet (nice firm white fish) and I also added a stalk of celery finely chopped to the onion. I used fat free 1/2 and 1/2 and some milk to get the right consistency and a couple of dashes of hot sauce. It needed salt very badly! and oh, I cooked the potatoes mostly in chicken broth. Guess I changed it somewhat, but t was really delicous. My 90 yr old dad said it was just like mom used to make....a real complement for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LWAGAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centerport, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
THis was great but I made a few changes so I could throw it in the crockpot... I didn't have any onion, so instead used a couple of ribs of celery and cooked them up with about 1/2 a pound of bacon. I used frozen diced potatoes (about 2 cup) and added a can of sweet corn. I made a white sauce (to thicken my milk a bit). I used whiting (about 4 fillets. I cooked the celery and bacon before adding it to the crock. Cooked it on high for about 4 hours - came out delicious! Even our kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lollychester

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2001
This is a very simple, tasty recipe. I used flounder instead of haddock and it would be good with most any fish. I also used cream in place of the milk, and it had a delicious, rich flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFJULIE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
Very good fish chowder and easy to make. I did add some chicken broth instead of water to cook the potatoes in. I also added some cream instead of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
I loved this chowder partly because it wasn't to fishy tasting and partly because it wasn't filled with heavy cream. I sauted celery and garlic with the onions and bacon and added about 1/8 cup of half & half with the milk. This was even better the 2nd day. Thanks for a great recipe that I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2003
I have to review this recipe again because it's just soooo good! This time, I added celery, mushrooms & scallions w/ the bacon & onion sautee, also used half & half instead of milk and chicken broth in place of the water for potatoes. I also added 1 can of corn - again I used leftovers, grilled swordfish steaks in a terriyaki marinade. I have not tried raw fish yet, but this recipe will work with anything - very versitile and absolutely perfect!! I get such great compliments on this dish, you have to try this! Thank you again for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PETRIE27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I prepared this chowder for a church dinner for 75 people. It was a tremendous hit. Most people came back for seconds, a few for thirds. Easy to and quick to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
This meal was delicious. I have always wanted to make my own chowder. This was perfect. The next time I will put more fish in it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
This is great and it is really easy to prepare as well. Despite being such a simple recipes, it taste wonderful. I added a little light soy sauce to enhance the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
it should not even get one star, but the website makes you put at least one in - but really no stars.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States