Fish Chowder I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2001
This is a very simple, tasty recipe. I used flounder instead of haddock and it would be good with most any fish. I also used cream in place of the milk, and it had a delicious, rich flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFJULIE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
Very good fish chowder and easy to make. I did add some chicken broth instead of water to cook the potatoes in. I also added some cream instead of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
This is great and it is really easy to prepare as well. Despite being such a simple recipes, it taste wonderful. I added a little light soy sauce to enhance the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
This meal was delicious. I have always wanted to make my own chowder. This was perfect. The next time I will put more fish in it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2003
I have to review this recipe again because it's just soooo good! This time, I added celery, mushrooms & scallions w/ the bacon & onion sautee, also used half & half instead of milk and chicken broth in place of the water for potatoes. I also added 1 can of corn - again I used leftovers, grilled swordfish steaks in a terriyaki marinade. I have not tried raw fish yet, but this recipe will work with anything - very versitile and absolutely perfect!! I get such great compliments on this dish, you have to try this! Thank you again for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PETRIE27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
Oh so very good. And it is versitile too! You can use many different kinds of fish (although something firm works best).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
i found this chowder to be a little bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
This was very very good. I used dried beef insead of bacon to cut down on fat and it was very good. I did add some lemon juice and salt and pepper we will have this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elm Grove, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minburn, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
Hi Guys: I must say, preparing this recipe was great. It was so good that my fiancee who doesn't like soups, enjoyed this one very much. To the point that he had 3 bowls. I really recommend this recipe and thanks to the person who shared it with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
This was just like my mom made many years ago when I grew up on Long Island. I used 12 oz of cod filet (nice firm white fish) and I also added a stalk of celery finely chopped to the onion. I used fat free 1/2 and 1/2 and some milk to get the right consistency and a couple of dashes of hot sauce. It needed salt very badly! and oh, I cooked the potatoes mostly in chicken broth. Guess I changed it somewhat, but t was really delicous. My 90 yr old dad said it was just like mom used to make....a real complement for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LWAGAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centerport, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States