Fish and Things Teriyaki Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2001
I thought this teriyaki was just ok. It is EXTREMELY sweet. It did have potential to be good, but next time I will only use half the honey and half the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
I have always doubled the marinade recipe for "Baked Teriyaki Chicken" by Marian Collins on this site when I need teriyaki sauce (that sauce has cider vinegar and has more of a bite). "Fish and Things" was a sweeter sauce and was different for us, but still was very good. I scaled this recipe back to 12 servings and used just a little less honey than was called for. One thing I wasn't prepared for was how fast it foams up when you add the honey...I wasn't ready for it and it spilled all over my stove. I will definitely make sure that doesn't happen next time :o).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HermionePlease

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2001
this teriyaki is the bomb! my son loved it - (and he's a bit picky about teriyaki's!!)- like a few others, i added less honey, brown sugar, white sugar. if you like your teriyaki sweeter than i'd follow the original recipe..this is the homestyle asian sauce that i could never find in a bottle..brilliant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2001
This was a good marinade, but not unlike something you can buy in a bottle. I tried it with beef. It did make the house smell great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2001
I'd really love to try this, if only I knew how much garlic to use. ____________ jm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Woodbridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This was ok, nothing to rave about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
Very good recipe. Anytime I can make a sauce instead of buy it, is great. It is sweet, but it really works great with Amber's Sesame Chicken!! DELIGHTFUL!! I wonder how long this keeps? It's such a big batch so I reduced it for my family. I also had enough left over so I used it for Almond Chicken Salad and it was a very nice addition to that recipe as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blossom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sarona, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
This is nice but as it is I found it tooth-curlingly sweet. I skipped the white sugar and halved the honey and brown sugar which left it about right for our taste. I used it first on tuna - very good. It's good on beef too with the addition of about a teaspoon of Worchester sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
This makes an excellent marinade or even a base to bake/broil in. However, if you are going to cook the fish in the sauce, I would recommend leaving out one of the sweeteners. It is really too sweet otherwise. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
This sauce has the basic ingredients of a typical teriyaki sauce (soy sauce, sugar, garlic and ginger). It is the amount of ingredients and additionals added in it that makes it more salty, savory or sweet. In this case this was a tad bit more on the "sweeter" side than I'd normally want in a Teriyaki sauce; however, my family liked it a lot so I gave this a 4 stars! I halved the entire amount of servings to yield 12 servings= 2 1/2 cups. I did grate the fresh ginger instead of just slicing the ginger root. The cooking method was approximate. When the mixture came to a slight boil, it rose and foamed up just as recipe stated. I then removed it from the heat and cool. I also chopped up the green onions, diagonally. I used this marinade for, "Amber's Sesame Chicken," "Almond Broccoli Stir-fry," and Orange Rice Medley," all from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

Chef John's Chicken Teriyaki

Watch Chef John make authentic Japanese chicken teriyaki.

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States