Fish and Things Teriyaki Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
This makes an excellent marinade or even a base to bake/broil in. However, if you are going to cook the fish in the sauce, I would recommend leaving out one of the sweeteners. It is really too sweet otherwise. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
This is a very tasty recipe. I have used this many times for fish tacos, believe it or not. The sweet contrast of the marinade with the spicy salsa for baha style tacos is killer. I would recommend cutting back on the sugar and I don't use the ginger root
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
Yummy marinade!!! Found out about this recipe from "Amber's Sesame Chicken". Used it for said recipe and I almost jumped for joy on how good it tasted. This recipe is very sweet (how I like it), but I think I will use a smidge less honey, since that overpowered it. But still...WOW!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabbage

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Thanks for this handy recipe!! I used a pancake syrup that was about 15% maple syrup in place of the honey. It turned out fantastic!! I've made larger batches and started using it as stirfry sauce. It is delicious, and the whole family really likes it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollycurls77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
This smelled really great right up until the honey was added... then it didn't smell like chinese anymore. I'd just leave the honey out and substitute (if desired) with some other sugar. molasses? pancake syrup? more brown sugar? Also... the big pieces of green onion were too bothersome to separate from the marinating chicken, so I spooned all of the solids into the frying pan... I recommend mincing or thinly slicing the green onion... because it gets all limp and dark... looks really gross. Also... don't marinate more than 20 minutes! Unless you want hard, nuggets that don't have the faintest taste of chicken (or I'm guessing whatever meat you use).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
This is great, love it. I usually just use it as a dip for steamed rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jade

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
Overall thought it was good... used with Amber's Sesame Chicken recipe as recommended. I cut the recipe in half, although next time I will use a bit less soy as my boyfriend and I both found it to be a little strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coronach, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Ljugarn, Gotlands, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
Very good recipe. Anytime I can make a sauce instead of buy it, is great. It is sweet, but it really works great with Amber's Sesame Chicken!! DELIGHTFUL!! I wonder how long this keeps? It's such a big batch so I reduced it for my family. I also had enough left over so I used it for Almond Chicken Salad and it was a very nice addition to that recipe as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blossom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sarona, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
I have always doubled the marinade recipe for "Baked Teriyaki Chicken" by Marian Collins on this site when I need teriyaki sauce (that sauce has cider vinegar and has more of a bite). "Fish and Things" was a sweeter sauce and was different for us, but still was very good. I scaled this recipe back to 12 servings and used just a little less honey than was called for. One thing I wasn't prepared for was how fast it foams up when you add the honey...I wasn't ready for it and it spilled all over my stove. I will definitely make sure that doesn't happen next time :o).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HermionePlease

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
This is nice but as it is I found it tooth-curlingly sweet. I skipped the white sugar and halved the honey and brown sugar which left it about right for our taste. I used it first on tuna - very good. It's good on beef too with the addition of about a teaspoon of Worchester sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

Chef John's Chicken Teriyaki

Watch Chef John make authentic Japanese chicken teriyaki.

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States