First Prize Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
This is the easiest, best recipe I have tried for this. I didn't have fresh fruit so I made these substitutions: 4 cups of defrosted cubed frozen rhubarb that I squeezed the extra liquid out of. Thawed 1lb bag of frozen unsweetened strawberries that I put in a strainer over a bowl to catch the juices and pressed lightly on the berries to extract more liquid. I substituted some of the water for the berry juice. Since I used frozen fruit and it had more moisture content, I increased the cornstarch by approx 1 tsp. I substituted some of the sugars for sugar substitute (totally optional but I try to cut back where I can.) I put about 1/3-1/2 of the crumb mixture on the bottom of the pan and the rest on top. It came out awesome. I was glad I put some foil under the pie pan because it bubbled over a bit. It also baked in 45 mins at 350 in my electric oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
This is a great recipe for fresh strawberries and rhubarb - my husband moved it right up his list of favorites at first bite!! I tried it once with frozen strawberries, and it was way too soupy. But, I have substituted other fresh fruit for the strawberries and rhubarb (peaches and blueberries were one alternative), and it is a real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I was really disappointed in how this turned out.I did exactly what the recipe said to do and read all the reviews from others comments and so I was really looking forward in trying out this recipe.WOW what a disappointment-I love strawberry and rhubarb so I want to try out all kinds of crisp and for this being the first prize crisp I couldnt believe it as I had tried other crisps and they were 10 times better than this one.So I was totally disappointed as I was really expecting this to turn out fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
This was simply delicious! I served it warm, with vanilla ice cream. I baked it in a 9x13 pan instead of a 9" round, and I did make the optional topping, using the same ingredients as for the crust, but half the amount, mixed it loosely, then sprinkled over the fruit. I'm keeping this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
My family love, love, loved this recipe. I had never had strawberry Rhubarb with a oat crust. It set up nicely and was not runny at all. I will be making it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasmine Hammond

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
This was awesome. My husband couldn't stop making Mmmmm sounds the whole time he was eating it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
This turned out great. I added a bit of cinnamon to the crust and I liked the results. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
Simple and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cab Elvis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
My first review on this site, that tells you that I was very happy with the crisp. It was delicious, served it with vanilla ice cream which was a real compliment to the tartness of the crisp. Perfect, wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
we enjoyed this very much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Mitchell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States