Fireman's Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Pretty darn good! I was a little nervous in trying this recipe because of some of the other reviews, but I'm glad I did. I didn't have any pre-made pie crusts and hate making my own crusts with a passion. When I mixed everything together, it did seem a little dry so I added some soy milk. I also added a little less sugar than called for, a dash of nutmeg and little more cinnamon. Because we didn't have any eggs on hand, I used egg replacer. It turned out great. I think what some people need to realize when making any recipe is that sometimes you need to play around with it a little. I don't necessarily mean to make it completely unrecognizable to the original recipe, but make a few small modifications if something isn't working (try adding more moisture, or not as much, different spices, etc). This really is a nice recipe (hubby even loved it) that is probably in need of a bit of tweaking by whoever cooks it, but this is a keeper! Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I have a recipe close to this except it has 2 eggs instead one. Also, it has 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder. If you have trouble with the recipe above you may want to try my suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
So I've just taken this pie out of the oven had had my first bites. I love it but I can't say I didn't change it a bit. Based on others reviews I added about a 1/4 cup more sugar and added a dash of nutmeg, dash of cloves, a tsp of vanilla and about a tsp of pumpkin pie spice and another 1/2 tsp of cinnamon. I chopped the apples and added about 6 oz of fresh raspberries. I think its a great success but would probably rather call it a cobbler that a pie since the crust is throughout. Seems like a great recipe thats interchangable with whatever fruits you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emma0517

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by baskerville_gal
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
It was like a pie-shaped cake. A delicious, pie-shaped cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I thought this was good, I did follow someones advise and up'd the butter. It is more of a apple cobbler type dessert but it does have the taste of apple pie. I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
I like that you didnt have to make or buy a crust with this one. the first time I made it i followed it word for word, the 2nd time I changed it,I also doubled it. Well most of it, I only put 1.5 cups of flour and after I mixed butter/sugar/eggs, I added the flour AND the apples and mixed it around. Also used 1 cup of butter instead. Worked out better and had more of a crust like appeal to it. My 3 boys LOVED it...also sprinkled cinnamon on top of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Easy recipe and delicious outcome. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
This is a great dessert! I fudged a bit because I was using up some blemished apples that were given to me and there were more than the recipe called for. I also used apple pie spice that I had. I believe it's hard to ruin this recipe, which makes it perfect for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
I think this recipe is GREAT!!!! I've made it for taking to other people's houses, as well as to make it for us here at home. Great with a scoop of frozen ice cream/frozen yogurt! I've even used Splenda in it, it is just a great recipe all around!!!! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I thought this was a great recipe, however, it needs to be tweaked depending on your own taste. I added more cinnamon & also nutmeg. It is not very sweet, which is another thing I liked about it. Also, it comes out more like a cake than a pie. I also doubled the recipes & used a larger pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by megan's nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Austell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States