Fireman's Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
Not bad ... tasted more like bread pudding with apples than a pie per say, but still a good sweet treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandserene

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Pretty darn good! I was a little nervous in trying this recipe because of some of the other reviews, but I'm glad I did. I didn't have any pre-made pie crusts and hate making my own crusts with a passion. When I mixed everything together, it did seem a little dry so I added some soy milk. I also added a little less sugar than called for, a dash of nutmeg and little more cinnamon. Because we didn't have any eggs on hand, I used egg replacer. It turned out great. I think what some people need to realize when making any recipe is that sometimes you need to play around with it a little. I don't necessarily mean to make it completely unrecognizable to the original recipe, but make a few small modifications if something isn't working (try adding more moisture, or not as much, different spices, etc). This really is a nice recipe (hubby even loved it) that is probably in need of a bit of tweaking by whoever cooks it, but this is a keeper! Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I have a recipe close to this except it has 2 eggs instead one. Also, it has 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder. If you have trouble with the recipe above you may want to try my suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
So I've just taken this pie out of the oven had had my first bites. I love it but I can't say I didn't change it a bit. Based on others reviews I added about a 1/4 cup more sugar and added a dash of nutmeg, dash of cloves, a tsp of vanilla and about a tsp of pumpkin pie spice and another 1/2 tsp of cinnamon. I chopped the apples and added about 6 oz of fresh raspberries. I think its a great success but would probably rather call it a cobbler that a pie since the crust is throughout. Seems like a great recipe thats interchangable with whatever fruits you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emma0517

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by baskerville_gal
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
It was like a pie-shaped cake. A delicious, pie-shaped cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I thought this was good, I did follow someones advise and up'd the butter. It is more of a apple cobbler type dessert but it does have the taste of apple pie. I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
I like that you didnt have to make or buy a crust with this one. the first time I made it i followed it word for word, the 2nd time I changed it,I also doubled it. Well most of it, I only put 1.5 cups of flour and after I mixed butter/sugar/eggs, I added the flour AND the apples and mixed it around. Also used 1 cup of butter instead. Worked out better and had more of a crust like appeal to it. My 3 boys LOVED it...also sprinkled cinnamon on top of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Easy recipe and delicious outcome. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
This is a great dessert! I fudged a bit because I was using up some blemished apples that were given to me and there were more than the recipe called for. I also used apple pie spice that I had. I believe it's hard to ruin this recipe, which makes it perfect for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
I think this recipe is GREAT!!!! I've made it for taking to other people's houses, as well as to make it for us here at home. Great with a scoop of frozen ice cream/frozen yogurt! I've even used Splenda in it, it is just a great recipe all around!!!! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States