Firehouse Machaca Taco Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
This is simply divine! I make this in the crockpot. I leave out the water and lightly saute the onions/peppers before adding to the mix. Put in on high or low and you're good to go. I also add a red pepper and onion packet to the mix. I've also made this exactly 'as is' (except I still added the red pepper and onion mix) and it tastes the same as doing it in the crockpot. I've also used this in my tamales! You can make this in a variety of ways and it's still great! Two thumbs up! ** Edited** I am editing this from my original review from mid-August 2007, because I've made this several times since and have done it various ways. I've now decided that the best way and the only way I'll make it is this way. Put the meat in the crockpot and fill it with water. Slice up an onion and add the entire jar of green salsa. (That means I purchase two jars of green salsa, because the second jar I use later.) Cover and cook for 8 hours/low. A hour before I'm ready for dinner, I'll cut up and saute the peppers/onions. When that's finished or near the end, I'll drain the water out of the crockpot and shred the meat in the crockpot. Then I add the sauted peppers/onions, a jar of green salsa, I even add a bit of red salsa (it tastes good with a bit of it added), and the onion mix. That's how I'll make it from now on, because somehow it just tastes better this way. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2002
A great change from seasoned hamburger meat for tacos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FOODGU1
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
Pay no attention to the negative review, this is EXCELLENT and very much reminded me of machaca! Although this isn't a "traditional" form of the recipe, it's an adapted version, which is pretty much a shredded beef filling (and what you're most likely to see in restaurants). Anyway, I did the first part of this in the crockpot and when it came to putting everything together on the stove, I used pimientos instead of the bell pepper. Can't wait to try the leftovers with eggs (another common method of cooking this). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2005
I have been making this recipe for years. I use a pound of green chilies instead of adding the green pepper, add a packet of onion soup, leave out the water and let it cook all day in a slow cooker. We eat it as a fiiling for flour tortilla's. It's just wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
My family loves this as a filling for burritos. I do use red salsa instead of green as that is what I usually have on hand. The recipe freezes well and there are always enough for two dinners (family of 6). Pass the shredded cheese, additional salsa, sour cream, beans and rice, guacamole or anything else you like in your burritos. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
Deeeeelish! Had to add garlic however.This is great for making Machaca.What is Machaca you say? It's this wonderful taco filling scrambled with beaten eggs,then served with warm tortillas and salsa. Es muy delicioso.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
I used my crock pot to cook this. Took the same amount of time, but I was able to walk away from my kitchen. Awesomely tender meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Really liked this recipe, even the kids liked it. Added both Kosher and Garlic Salts to water while boiling. Substituted can of green chiles for green pepper. Used regular red salsa instead of the green, and I skipped the cilantro because I forgot at the store, but think it would be a nice addition. Really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Made this yesterday in the crock pot. Hubby loved it- had 3 tacos- he never eats like that- i used regular salsa andn added green chilis- hit at our house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
I cooked the meat in the crockpot all day and then shredded it. This will get made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Vegan Bean Taco Filling

See how to make a hearty, spicy bean filling for tacos and burritos.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States