Firehouse Machaca Taco Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2002
A great change from seasoned hamburger meat for tacos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
Deeeeelish! Had to add garlic however.This is great for making Machaca.What is Machaca you say? It's this wonderful taco filling scrambled with beaten eggs,then served with warm tortillas and salsa. Es muy delicioso.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
thank you jill!!! i loved to eat this for brunch when i was in california, but it is nowhere to be found in east tennessee. a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2003
This was good but not outstanding, perhaps because I had red salsa and not green like the recipe indicated. I couldn't get mine to shred either so I popped it into the food processor. Made a lot but think it could have used some other flavor like salt, garlic etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2003
Absolutely delicious! I served it as the beef filling on a taco buffet and it was a big hit. The green salsa is the perfect ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
Whatever this is, Machaca it ain't. I was very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
My family loves this as a filling for burritos. I do use red salsa instead of green as that is what I usually have on hand. The recipe freezes well and there are always enough for two dinners (family of 6). Pass the shredded cheese, additional salsa, sour cream, beans and rice, guacamole or anything else you like in your burritos. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
This is the best!!! Used this as stuffing for quesadillas at a party and everyone wanted the recipe. Versatile too. You can use any kind of meat you wish with the same great result. Hubby can't get enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
Give this recipe a try, it is so good with sour cream, Sylvia Eccles Mexican Rice, and beans. My husband loved Machaca burritos when we lived on the border and spent a fortune on them. He almost died when I started making this recipe 2 years ago--he was so happy. We have them almost every Sunday instead of the traditional roast and potatos and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2005
I have been making this recipe for years. I use a pound of green chilies instead of adding the green pepper, add a packet of onion soup, leave out the water and let it cook all day in a slow cooker. We eat it as a fiiling for flour tortilla's. It's just wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Vegan Bean Taco Filling

See how to make a hearty, spicy bean filling for tacos and burritos.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States