Firecracker Scallops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I would make a couple changes. Instead of garlic salt, use fresh minced garlic and a pinch or two of sea salt. I would also take that green onion pictured (but not included in recipe) and add it to the sauce. I would also add some course ground black pepper, just 1/4 tsp mainly for the visual effect it would add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gulfport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
I used fresh garlic, lots of it, and made more of the butter/bacon/horseradish (my own ratios) sauce and used small scallops. It was delicious over brown jasmine rice and topped with scallions. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I made this last night and let me just say it was OUTSTANDING! I've made several scallop dishes over the years but never with horseradish sauce in the mix... WOW!!! What an awesome addition indeed... SO good that even my usually unimpressed husband was undoubtedly impressed. The nice crunchy texture of the bacon and scallions went perfectly with the melt in your mouth texture of the scallops... and then, the bit of zing from the horseradish took this way over the top! I had to gain control of myself and step away from the table to avoid the urge to lick my plate clean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
These were great! Easty to prepare & cook. I would mix the horseradish sauce up & pour over scallops, the sauce made the dish! My BF loved these & could not rave enough about the dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RockinRob

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Stuyvesant, New York, USA
Living In: West Sand Lake, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. I bit into them and the first taste was good, and then it got bitter. I don't know what I did wrong--I may have overcooked them. I cooked the scallops in butter and garlic powder (not bacon drippings as I just baked turkey bacon). I will try this again. My chef friend said to cook in olive oil until light brown and turn. I'm not giving up; this is only my first time having scallop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rocky Mountain House, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Awesome recipe! Only thing I did differently was make in in a cast iron skillet so I could throw it in the oven and only clean 1 pan (lazy as I am with 2 small kids!) It was soooo good hubby said he would eat it 4 times a week! Thanks for this one!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
My family loved this dish. I did use Wasabi instead of Horseradish and recieved huge kuddos =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reeni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
My husband LOVES this dish! I had bought some beautiful (HUGE) sea scallops and some fresh horseradish...I don't know if I'd make it for an entree again though, it's so rich but so tasty...I ate too much! Can't wait to try it for an appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I liked the concept of this recipe and will make again. However, as a few reviewers noted, salty as is. When you first begin making the recipe you do not realize that the scallops will be smaller once cooked. Then your eating 50/50 bacon and scallops. You do not need to add salt at all!! I can not imagine how this would have tasted had I added salt. Next time I might double the scallops and reduce the bacon to 3 slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CFUCHSLAO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hato Rey, San Juan, Puerto Rico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
This was a very good way to prepare scallops. It was easy and fast and the end result was delicious! I would have given it 5 stars but it was very laden w/calories! Still, I'm sure I will make it again, probably after I run the marathon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broiled Scallops

Try these incredibly easy broiled scallops in a butter and lemon sauce.

Scallops with Fresh Corn Cream

See how to make seared scallops with easy, no-cream fresh corn cream.

Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette

See how to make quick-and-easy seared scallops in a mild jalapeño vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States