Firecracker Scallops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Loved it! (Used garlic powder instead of garlic salt)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I wasn't successful with this recipe, but I know where I messed up. My scallops were frozen. When I put them into the bacon grease/butter/Garlic powder pan, it got watered down. Thus, it took way more than 4 minutes to cook, because I was waiting for the water to boil out. Bottom line: Make sure your scallops are THAWED!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
One of my favorites. All the tastes of bacon wrapped scallops, in less time. Horseradish sauce takes it to another level
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Loved this. Such a nice surprise - i made as directed and placed it on a bed of rice and peas. Really wonderful! Strangely enough. I just had horse radish in the jar. ( no sauce) So i used what i had - plain hot horseraddish just about 2 tablespoons Placed in oven as directed. So while it was not creamy. It was really devine placed on top of the rice. I had the large scallops you get from costco. Will try next time with sauce but - this way was really yummy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
OMG the best yet. For those who said it was to salty the way to change that is use unsalted butter and fresh minced garlic. If they were not so expensive in my neck of the woods would make them every night!! I used huge scallops and quartered them but at 20 bucks a pound only used a half pond:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I made some fairly decent adjustments to this recipe after reading reviews about the saltiness (and because i was lacking some ingredients), but my final product came out fantastic. First, I used pancetta instead of bacon. Second, I used about two cloves of fresh garlic instead of garlic salt. Third, I used red pepper flake,and added it in when I sautéed the garlic, in place of the horseradish. I think those flavors melded really well and gave the scallops more of an Italian flair. I served them over basmati (or jasmine?) rice and they tasted great. I could also image they would be really tasty served over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I would make a couple changes. Instead of garlic salt, use fresh minced garlic and a pinch or two of sea salt. I would also take that green onion pictured (but not included in recipe) and add it to the sauce. I would also add some course ground black pepper, just 1/4 tsp mainly for the visual effect it would add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gulfport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
I used fresh garlic, lots of it, and made more of the butter/bacon/horseradish (my own ratios) sauce and used small scallops. It was delicious over brown jasmine rice and topped with scallions. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I made this last night and let me just say it was OUTSTANDING! I've made several scallop dishes over the years but never with horseradish sauce in the mix... WOW!!! What an awesome addition indeed... SO good that even my usually unimpressed husband was undoubtedly impressed. The nice crunchy texture of the bacon and scallions went perfectly with the melt in your mouth texture of the scallops... and then, the bit of zing from the horseradish took this way over the top! I had to gain control of myself and step away from the table to avoid the urge to lick my plate clean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette

See how to make quick-and-easy seared scallops in a mild jalapeño vinaigrette.

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Scallops and Arugula with Lentils and Butter Bea

Beautifully seared scallops with wilted arugula, butter beans, and lentils.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States