Firecracker Salmon Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
The basting sauce really has potential. Increase the red pepper flakes and cayenne pepper if you want spicy. The balsamic and chili sauce combo is suprisingly good and will try on a less strong tasting meat, like chicken. Definitely a different flavor combo for salmon. Pairs well with butter noodles and fresh peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Great dish. Love the fact that there is such great flavor to it. Definitely a keeper. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat's

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
This was WONDERFUL! The whole family loved it. Just enough spice to be interesting, but not so much that the kids won't eat it. Made this after working an 11 hour day, it was so simple. Had all the ingredients on hand too, though I did use powdered ginger instead of fresh. I also used salmon fillets because that was all I could find. It made a ton of sauce. We could have easily doubled the amount of salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Amazing sauce, and easy too! Thank you for this recipe. I was only cooking two salmon steaks, but as I'm a little skeptical that recipes make as much sauce as they say, I made the whole amount. I had lots of sauce left over, so I boiled it down a bit, and Wow! The reduced glaze packs a punch and was great on our pasta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This was a really easy, flexible, and yummy recipe! I baked the salmon steaks at 350 for 20 min. in a greased Pyrex dish, putting the sauce just on the top of the steaks. I didn't have chili sauce on hand. I substituted cocktail sauce, decreased the amt. of brown sugar, and added extra cayenne. Maybe an unusual substitution, but I think it made a nice tangy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Despite the heat from the chili ingredients the flavour of the salmon still comes through. genius recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This rocks! You can adjust the spices if you like it less spicy or make sure your side dishes are more mellow. I don't always have fresh gingerroot, but ginger powder works just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazzy Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
One of my new favorite ways to prepare salmon! It's not only easy (took less than 15 minutes to prep and cook), but the flavors are excellent - and they don't overpower the taste of the actual fish. I left out the brown sugar because I prefer to not use it on "dinner-foods". I had salmon filets, and cooked them up in a grill pan on the stovetop. 3-4 minutes on one side for a good sear, and then flip over for another 4-5 minutes (covered with a lid for the last 2 minutes). Made a plain yogurt+dill sauce to dollop over the salmon. Thank you for sharing your recipe! Permanent addition to recipe binder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
a little boring
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Delish! I used salmon filets instead of steaks and added liquid smoke to the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States