Firecracker Grilled Alaska Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Per other reviewers, boiled the marinade and served with salmon. Great flavor for not a lot of work...yahoo! Served with Stir Fried Wok Vegetables from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quiche Me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairland, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Prospect Heights, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
For a home created recipe, this is HANDS DOWN delicious! I would definitely recommend to a friend. I made some adjustments since we didn't have every exact ingredient. Replaced peanut oil with canola oil, green onions with white onions, ground ginger with minced ginger. The overall glazed texture was superb. You can taste a hint of the sugar and a slight flavor of spice from the red pepper flakes. A reviewer named Susan recommended to not throw away the marinade and to add some wine. Based on another experience, I added a half cup of white wine, 2 tablespoons of butter, and a tablespoon of lemon juice. It enhanced the flavor and added alot more volume to the sauce, which every took a liking to. :) Another note, we BBQ grilled the fish with charcoal. Used aluminum foil for the bottom of the grill for easy cleanup, a hi-speed portable fan to zoom through the charcoal fanning process, and aluminum foil for the top of the grill to prevent burning the fish. A 5 out of 5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GilbertAngeles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Delish and not too hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: West Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Well...I started a diet that says you need to eat fish. I DO NOT LIKE FISH unless it is the deep-fried kind from Captain D's or Long John's. Frozen fish sticks and patties...I can handle as long as they are covered in tartar sauce. Know what I mean? However...I decided to make an effort to find a fish that I could stand to eat. I was pleasantly surprised that I REALLY LIKED this recipe!! I bought FRESH SALMON from the meat counter. (I was told that it would taste less fishy if it was fresh.) I marinated it for about 8 hours. My husband grilled it and brushed the marinade on while grilling. The only substitution I made to this recipe was to use stevia instead of the brown sugar. It turned out wonderful! We liked the marinade so much that we are going to try it on steaks, chicken and shrimp! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe, Christine, and for helping me find a way to enjoy eating healthier. :^)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Amazing! I always substitute chives for green onions. You also don't need the peanut or the sesame oil if you don't have any you can use regular oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
WOW - this recipe is amazing. Such a great taste. I might add a bit more red pepper flakes next time to bring the spice up a bit. The marinade is a tangy, sweet and slightly spicy taste. Next time I might also try cooking it on a cedar plank to add some smokiness. Definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
I LOVED this recipe! The flavors were delicious! I cook salmon very often and I must say this is probably the best recipe for salmon I've ever used. My three dogs AND cat were surrounding me while I was eating it because it smelled so delicious! (My cat has never tried to eat off my plate before and she tried!) I will most definitely be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chino, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
We really l iked this recipe! I cut down on the oil drastically. And no added salt - the soy sauce was enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Townsend, Washington, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I made this recipe for the first time probably 5 years ago and have made it at least 20 times since then. It's very good. I have grilled it as well as baked it. Its better if you grill it but if you don't have a grill its still better then most salmon recipes if you bake it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Made this on a boat using an entire fresh wild salmon.. each side on a separate BBQ... fed 10 people who raved about the flavor... only thing I would change... cut back the oil to at least half. Sesame oil is just fine as is... other is too much and I ended up spooning it out of the mixing bowl before putting on the fish.. Highly recommend this recipe !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 813) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Firecracker Grilled Alaska Salmon

See how to make marinated grilled salmon with a sassy spicy sauce.

Grilled Salmon II

A sweet-and-spicy, Asian-inspired marinade for grilled salmon fillets.

Heather's Grilled Salmon

Grilled salmon is treated to a simple and flavorful marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States