Firecracker Grilled Alaska Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I’m not particularly fond of salmon, so I made this using tilapia. We liked this, but if I make it again, I’ll reserve some of the marinade, reduce it down and use it to drizzle on when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Barb and I thought it was excellent - grill for sure - not an oven recipe. Next time, will double the marinade, boil, and serve with the finished product. Used fresh ginger, but other than that, followed the recipe -- and agree with some, may be great on chicken, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SycamoreMan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Love this recipe, we love salmon and this is our go to recipe for it. I change it up just a littl but though, I cut down on the oil (I use canola instead) and use more balsamic and soy sauce, I add more ground ginger and red pepper flakes because we like it on the spicy side. I leave out the sesame oil, green onions and salt all together. So good, it rivals any restaurants salmon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ppbymonica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
WOW! This is FANTASTIC! This might be the best recipe on the site! My changes were minor: I used fresh ginger instead of the jar kind and I added an extra clove of garlic. I also baked in the oven with the marinade for about 20 minutes. I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Fantastic! I used my cast iron "grill" pan and it worked really well. I only marinated the salmon for 30 minutes max and still it was delectable. I poured all the marinade onto the pan with the fish. The skin was blackened to perfection - very tasty though maybe not the healthiest! I didn't have any peanut oil so I replaced it with some grapeseed oil and some more sesame oil. I also didn't have any green onions, but did use fresh ginger. I believe this recipe to be flexible, and therefore very easy to make! Try it with Sesame Pasta (Chicken) Salad, in place of the chicken. The Asian flavors combine sublimely. Thank you for a tasty and quick dinner recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
This was Excellent! One problem we had was the peanut oil separated from the rest of the mixture when reheated so we couldn't use it to pour over as suggested. Next time I'll try and put it through a blender to see if that works better and use a little less oil to cut the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Great recipe. Nice and easy.. My husband loved it and we are making it again tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clayton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Per other reviewers, boiled the marinade and served with salmon. Great flavor for not a lot of work...yahoo! Served with Stir Fried Wok Vegetables from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quiche Me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairland, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Prospect Heights, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
For a home created recipe, this is HANDS DOWN delicious! I would definitely recommend to a friend. I made some adjustments since we didn't have every exact ingredient. Replaced peanut oil with canola oil, green onions with white onions, ground ginger with minced ginger. The overall glazed texture was superb. You can taste a hint of the sugar and a slight flavor of spice from the red pepper flakes. A reviewer named Susan recommended to not throw away the marinade and to add some wine. Based on another experience, I added a half cup of white wine, 2 tablespoons of butter, and a tablespoon of lemon juice. It enhanced the flavor and added alot more volume to the sauce, which every took a liking to. :) Another note, we BBQ grilled the fish with charcoal. Used aluminum foil for the bottom of the grill for easy cleanup, a hi-speed portable fan to zoom through the charcoal fanning process, and aluminum foil for the top of the grill to prevent burning the fish. A 5 out of 5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GilbertAngeles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Delish and not too hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: West Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 780) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Firecracker Grilled Alaska Salmon

See how to make marinated grilled salmon with a sassy spicy sauce.

Heather's Grilled Salmon

Grilled salmon is treated to a simple and flavorful marinade.

Grilled Salmon II

A sweet-and-spicy, Asian-inspired marinade for grilled salmon fillets.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States