Firecracker Grilled Alaska Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This is simply the best salmon dish I have ever had. The marinade is so tasty and the red pepper flakes give it a nice kick. We have made this several times now and love it each time! My husband now cooks it on the barbecue on a cookie sheet and that works really well -- not lost pieces through the grill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Great marinade, and like some others, after I took the salmon out I simmered the marinade for a few minutes both for safety and to thicken it to use as a sauce later. I cooked my salmon in a hot cast iron skillet on stove top for about 3 minutes per side and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Memphis Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I made this for my boyfriend who's a chef. He's generally pretty hard to impress but he loved it. I'm definitely not going to be sharing this recipe with him!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I live next to an amazing salmon fishery in Alaska and I eat salmon every which way about once a week. This recipe rocks. I followed it exactly. Although I put the salmon on some tin foil and drizzled the marinade over the top. Grilled for 10 minutes, then took the salmon off and put it directly on the grill for 5 minutes. It worked out great. The taste was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
WOW!!! This was great!! I loved the way this marinade came out and the combination of ingredients. This is one of the best salmon dinners I ever had. Whenever I have the opportunity to prepare this recipe for friends and family, I am going to recommend this to them. I did not have a outside grill available, so instead I grilled my marinade salmon over the stove top and it still came out great. I can tell by the flavor that it is meant to be grilled outside, but I had to improvise. The only change I made was, because I did not have peanut oil, I used Crisco oil instead, and instead of garlic cloves I used garlic powder. I did not allow salmon to marinade for 4-6 hours due to time, but I am going to try it next time I prepare this dish. Overall, job well done!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I just made this, but also added 2 tablespoons of honey to the marinade as well as a little rice wine vinegar. It was AMAZING! Best Salmon I have EVER tasted!! :-P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Two thumbs up! This is one of the best salmon recipes on this site! It was very easy to make and despite the seemingly long list of ingredients, I had everything in my pantry that I needed. After letting the fish marinate for about 4-5 hours, the flavor was great without overpowering and contrary to its name, it wasn't too spicy (although it did have a mild heat). I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Plainville, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I have made this recipe 7 or 8 times now. Anytime I get salmon, I think about doing this recipe. I do not use the peanut oil and green onions. I probably use 1 tbs of sesame oil for the other oil. It turns out amazing every time. The best thing is the leftovers are good cold so put it over a nice fresh salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callista

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Sonoma, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
If I could give it 10 stars I would! I marinate mine in a gallon freezer bag and save the marinade. To get the most flavor in the salmon I flip the steak halfway through cooking and peel the skin off. Then drizzle remaining marinade over that. Really great salmon!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hmay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: New Braunfels, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Very nice. I used Sriracha instead of red pepper flakes and left out the salt, soy sauce made it plenty salty, otherwise I kept to the recipe. It doesn't need that much oil, I think I'll halve it next time. Also I think I would prefer fresh ginger to ground in this. I had very small, thin salmon pieces and I only marinated them for about 3 hours. Worked fine, but I can see a longer marinade would be better. I made two servings and broiled the fish in the toaster oven. Like others said, I can definitely see this being great on chicken. Served with brown rice pilaf and roasted asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 801) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Firecracker Grilled Alaska Salmon

See how to make marinated grilled salmon with a sassy spicy sauce.

Heather's Grilled Salmon

Grilled salmon is treated to a simple and flavorful marinade.

Grilled Salmon II

A sweet-and-spicy, Asian-inspired marinade for grilled salmon fillets.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States