Firecracker Grilled Alaska Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Delicious, but veeerrryy spicy, as it should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nmctmc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
This dish was fantastic, although I used 1/2 c sesame oil in place of the peanut oil. Due to the strong flavor of sesame oil, I was concerned it was a big mistake. However it didn't overpower the wonderful soy-balsamic blend, maybe because I marinated for 4 hours. Once the fish were grilling, the remaining marinade was boiled for 2 minutes with an additional 4T of balsamic vinegar and a 1/8 cup of chicken stock. Heat turned down, the sauce reduced slightly for ~10 min to allow the flavors to concentrate. The sauce was drizzled over the plated grilled salmon and red potatoes (made using A/R recipe Quick and Easy Grilled Potatoes). This recipe gets 5 stars because my changes should not reflect on the recipe as written. Will use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Closter, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New Berlin, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
This is the best salmon I have ever eaten. My husband doesn't particularly like salmon and he even said how much he liked it. Fantastic marinade. Might try it on pork tenderloin or chicken breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I’m not particularly fond of salmon, so I made this using tilapia. We liked this, but if I make it again, I’ll reserve some of the marinade, reduce it down and use it to drizzle on when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Barb and I thought it was excellent - grill for sure - not an oven recipe. Next time, will double the marinade, boil, and serve with the finished product. Used fresh ginger, but other than that, followed the recipe -- and agree with some, may be great on chicken, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SycamoreMan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Love this recipe, we love salmon and this is our go to recipe for it. I change it up just a littl but though, I cut down on the oil (I use canola instead) and use more balsamic and soy sauce, I add more ground ginger and red pepper flakes because we like it on the spicy side. I leave out the sesame oil, green onions and salt all together. So good, it rivals any restaurants salmon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ppbymonica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
WOW! This is FANTASTIC! This might be the best recipe on the site! My changes were minor: I used fresh ginger instead of the jar kind and I added an extra clove of garlic. I also baked in the oven with the marinade for about 20 minutes. I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Fantastic! I used my cast iron "grill" pan and it worked really well. I only marinated the salmon for 30 minutes max and still it was delectable. I poured all the marinade onto the pan with the fish. The skin was blackened to perfection - very tasty though maybe not the healthiest! I didn't have any peanut oil so I replaced it with some grapeseed oil and some more sesame oil. I also didn't have any green onions, but did use fresh ginger. I believe this recipe to be flexible, and therefore very easy to make! Try it with Sesame Pasta (Chicken) Salad, in place of the chicken. The Asian flavors combine sublimely. Thank you for a tasty and quick dinner recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
This was Excellent! One problem we had was the peanut oil separated from the rest of the mixture when reheated so we couldn't use it to pour over as suggested. Next time I'll try and put it through a blender to see if that works better and use a little less oil to cut the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Great recipe. Nice and easy.. My husband loved it and we are making it again tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clayton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 763) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Firecracker Grilled Alaska Salmon

See how to make marinated grilled salmon with a sassy spicy sauce.

Heather's Grilled Salmon

Grilled salmon is treated to a simple and flavorful marinade.

Grilled Salmon II

A sweet-and-spicy, Asian-inspired marinade for grilled salmon fillets.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States