Firecracker Grilled Alaska Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
Great, easy recipe. My outdoor grill is closed up for the season, and I didn't want to get my stove top all greasy using the grill pan. So after marinating the fish for 4 hours, I put the fish in a glass dish, poured the marinade over and put it in a 400 degree convection oven for 20 minutes, GREAT. Putting it in the oven with the marinade gives the fish a glaze. Delicious!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
525 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
Don't throw the marinade out!!! Put the marinade in a saucepan with a couple of tablespoons of dry white wine and simmer for about 5 minutes. Drizzle on the salmon - just makes it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
434 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
We use this recipe ALL THE TIME! The marinade is fine for a few hours, but the flavor is best when you marinade overnight. I let it soak in a plastic zip bag rather than a covered dish. So easy! If you're missing one or two ingredients, it's usually still very good. I often make it with canola oil rather than peanut oil, and it's just as good IMO. I make this for others and share the recipe often. Probably my favorite recipe from this site....seriously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
220 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2001
I baked mine instead of grilling, and it had a very appealing aroma. Delicious taste also. I reduced the cayenne in half because I don't like hot seasonings. It was very flavorful. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2004
This was excellent. I marinated it overnight and broiled instead of grilled. I poured the marinade over the salmon before broiling and it made a nice think glaze. Other than that I followed the recipe to a T. As a side I served "Spinach and Orzo Salad" and they went very well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BATCAVES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vinton, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
Great salmon recipe but we all agreed that it was way too spicy. Next time, I will cut the red pepper flakes back to 1 tsp. I agree with other reviewers that it would probably be better if it was marinated at least 8 hrs., or preferrably overnight. I wrapped mine in foil and placed on the grill and it took approximately 15 mins. at med. heat for a 1" thick piece to cook. Thanks, Christine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TRAILINDAWG
Reviewed: May 13, 2007
Wow, My first Superb success at grilling fish !!! I marinated the salmon for 24hrs. and used about half of the red pepper. I should have used all of it. The taste was phenominal but I personally would have been able to handle more of a kick. Served this with grilled, Basil Shrimp (allrecipes), a pasta salad, green salad, and grilled pineapple (brushed slices with a combo of butter,honey,lemon juice, brown sugar) and ice cream for dessert. This was a Mother's Day hit and a definite Do Over!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRAILINDAWG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
Delicious! My husband isn't usually very keen on fish but proclaimed that this was the best fish recipe we've ever made. Just get a nice fresh cut of salmon and you can't go wrong. I followed the recipe to a tee (except canola instead of peanut oil) for the marianade, and reserved the leftover marianade to thicken on the stove with a dash of honey to serve on/with the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taiping, Perak, Malaysia
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
I followed this recipe to a tee & it was good but to be honest, I prefer the Grilled Salmon I (from this site) recipe I made last week. I served it w/ corn on the cob w/ parmesan parsley butter, herbed mushrooms in white wine (from this site) & finished it off w/ pineapple orange sorbet (also from this site).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
Just got done eating this for dinner. It was yummy! I just need to remember to set the grill very low because the sugar content tends to burn easily. I used on flash frozen filets and we all loved it! I will make this again. Update: this has become a staple and I make it often. It is good!!Thanks Christine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 806) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Firecracker Grilled Alaska Salmon

See how to make marinated grilled salmon with a sassy spicy sauce.

Grilled Salmon II

A sweet-and-spicy, Asian-inspired marinade for grilled salmon fillets.

Heather's Grilled Salmon

Grilled salmon is treated to a simple and flavorful marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States