Firecracker Grilled Alaska Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
Great, easy recipe. My outdoor grill is closed up for the season, and I didn't want to get my stove top all greasy using the grill pan. So after marinating the fish for 4 hours, I put the fish in a glass dish, poured the marinade over and put it in a 400 degree convection oven for 20 minutes, GREAT. Putting it in the oven with the marinade gives the fish a glaze. Delicious!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
520 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
Don't throw the marinade out!!! Put the marinade in a saucepan with a couple of tablespoons of dry white wine and simmer for about 5 minutes. Drizzle on the salmon - just makes it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
428 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
We use this recipe ALL THE TIME! The marinade is fine for a few hours, but the flavor is best when you marinade overnight. I let it soak in a plastic zip bag rather than a covered dish. So easy! If you're missing one or two ingredients, it's usually still very good. I often make it with canola oil rather than peanut oil, and it's just as good IMO. I make this for others and share the recipe often. Probably my favorite recipe from this site....seriously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
217 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2001
I baked mine instead of grilling, and it had a very appealing aroma. Delicious taste also. I reduced the cayenne in half because I don't like hot seasonings. It was very flavorful. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2004
This was excellent. I marinated it overnight and broiled instead of grilled. I poured the marinade over the salmon before broiling and it made a nice think glaze. Other than that I followed the recipe to a T. As a side I served "Spinach and Orzo Salad" and they went very well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BATCAVES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vinton, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
Great salmon recipe but we all agreed that it was way too spicy. Next time, I will cut the red pepper flakes back to 1 tsp. I agree with other reviewers that it would probably be better if it was marinated at least 8 hrs., or preferrably overnight. I wrapped mine in foil and placed on the grill and it took approximately 15 mins. at med. heat for a 1" thick piece to cook. Thanks, Christine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TRAILINDAWG
Reviewed: May 13, 2007
Wow, My first Superb success at grilling fish !!! I marinated the salmon for 24hrs. and used about half of the red pepper. I should have used all of it. The taste was phenominal but I personally would have been able to handle more of a kick. Served this with grilled, Basil Shrimp (allrecipes), a pasta salad, green salad, and grilled pineapple (brushed slices with a combo of butter,honey,lemon juice, brown sugar) and ice cream for dessert. This was a Mother's Day hit and a definite Do Over!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRAILINDAWG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
Delicious! My husband isn't usually very keen on fish but proclaimed that this was the best fish recipe we've ever made. Just get a nice fresh cut of salmon and you can't go wrong. I followed the recipe to a tee (except canola instead of peanut oil) for the marianade, and reserved the leftover marianade to thicken on the stove with a dash of honey to serve on/with the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taiping, Perak, Malaysia
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
I followed this recipe to a tee & it was good but to be honest, I prefer the Grilled Salmon I (from this site) recipe I made last week. I served it w/ corn on the cob w/ parmesan parsley butter, herbed mushrooms in white wine (from this site) & finished it off w/ pineapple orange sorbet (also from this site).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
Just got done eating this for dinner. It was yummy! I just need to remember to set the grill very low because the sugar content tends to burn easily. I used on flash frozen filets and we all loved it! I will make this again. Update: this has become a staple and I make it often. It is good!!Thanks Christine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 799) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Firecracker Grilled Alaska Salmon

See how to make marinated grilled salmon with a sassy spicy sauce.

Heather's Grilled Salmon

Grilled salmon is treated to a simple and flavorful marinade.

Grilled Salmon II

A sweet-and-spicy, Asian-inspired marinade for grilled salmon fillets.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States