Firecracker Grilled Alaska Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Tried this with a friend of mine and we both enjoyed it a lot. I didn't have peanut oil so I used a Canola oil instead. The nutty strong flavor of the sesame oil probably made up a little for the absence of the peanut oil. I also used the marination to create a nice sauce (which I used as a dip for the roasted veggies I made on the side), simply dissolve one teaspoon of starch in a half cup of water and add it to the marination and let them simmer over medium heat for few minutes. Delicious !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tarek Essam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I religiously read 20 or 30 reviews to get a very good sense until they start to repeat themselves and I've exhausted most of the really good suggestions. I have always disliked fish. I'll eat sushi but in limited quantity (the non-fishy tasting stuff)--don't like that fishy taste/smell. In an effort to be healthier, I am trying to fix healthier meals and cut back on chicken and meat, I am doing my best to find good fish recipes here. This Firecracker Salmon was fantastic. It will be a regular dish. A friend suggested that sockeye is a great non-fishy salmon. I went looking at Costco and found they have a great wild caught, skin on, flash frozen sockeye bag that are each individually wrapped. I only substituted dark soy for regular soy and doubled the marinade for two filets. I like my spice so I was very heavy handed with both the cayenne and the red pepper flakes. All else followed to a tee. I reduced down the extra marinade to supplement the meal. My fiance suggested we BBQ the salmon filets on a cedar plank. Great idea! He raved as did I over this recipe! Never thought I'd say I love salmon. Thanks very much to Christine L for helping me find a salmon that I love. For you others in my same boat, check out Chef John's Pan-Roasted Halibut with Clamshell Mushrooms and Lemon Butter Sauce. You can sub the expensive Clamshell Mushrooms for Criminis for the same effect. It is a fantastic NON-FISHY dish with fantastic flavor and another stable in our house now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PITA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This was Excellent! The only change was that I used Olive oil instead of peanute oil. It turned out perfect and the whole family said to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BrandiG
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I already love salmon & this recipe made me love it even more! Personally I would add a little more heat, but it was delicious! Will be making again. I also think the marinade would be good for chicken or shrimp. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
used safflower oil instead of peanut, and onion powder instead of green onions. it wound up marinating about 30 hours, but was absolutely amazing! we both loved it and can't wait to serve it for others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Marinated for over 24 hours it was pretty good but I kept thinking it was missing something. It wasn’t until the following morning while eating some left over on toast with cream cheese that I thought of what. This would be great if it was smoked! If you are not fortunate enough to have a smoker I would add a little liquid smoke to the marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beaufortbruce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corrales, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I'm not sure why my reviews are being edited, especially considering my opinions are always fair and non judgmental. Some recipes are better than others, simple as that. So, here's my second attempt at writing an honest review. This was just so-so for me. I much prefer Aytom's Slammin' Salmon. The marinade isn't thick (like this one) and can therefore be used as a dressing as well. When served atop a bed of mixed greens, Aytom's salmon makes for a nice, light dinner. I guess I'm also not a fan of wild salmon. I know it is the "king" of all salmon and is favored for it's rich flavor, but it's just not for me. I felt the marinade didn't have a chance to shine because each bite was overwhelmingly fishy. As suggested, I served this with a side of rice and a stir-fry medley of baby corn, shitake mushrooms and snow peas. Everything complemented each other nicely, but was just not to my liking. I may make this again, but will use a milder salmon when I do. Thanks anyways, Christine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Not as yet but, I will be trying it out very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Castro

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I have cooked this recipe at work for the past 3 years. We omit the peanut oil because it hampers the marinade. We also marinate sides of salmon and then portion. We bake the salmon instead of grilling. Everybody loves this dish. It is cute seeing the recipe for 8 servings. I routinely marinate 110 lbs of salmon for a single meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Family and guests love this! Try using a skinless salmon for a less fishy taste. It is always a big hit with fish lovers and those that stay away from overpowering fishy flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Cooper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 799) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Firecracker Grilled Alaska Salmon

See how to make marinated grilled salmon with a sassy spicy sauce.

Heather's Grilled Salmon

Grilled salmon is treated to a simple and flavorful marinade.

Grilled Salmon II

A sweet-and-spicy, Asian-inspired marinade for grilled salmon fillets.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States