Firecracker Fried Chicken Drumsticks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2001
If you have trouble with the breading, it's best to make sure that your oil is very hot. I just got a deep fryer and find it is better to cook them in there. If the breading is still falling off make sure that when you pull the chicken from the hot sauce that you make sure it isn't dripping wet. Let it quit dripping if you have to. Then make sure the flour mixture coats the chicken very well. Oher than that, I don't know why the breading would fall off. next time you make it and kids have some, try cutting them up into strips. That's the way I have made them from day one. And I always marinate them overnight. The longer the better. Thanks for trying the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2001
Good idea, Marinating the chicken beasts in the hot sauce makes the chicken nice and tender. Easy to make and a joy to eat. I have tried it twice and find that adding hot pepper to the dry mix makes it a little hotter then just the red-hot. Also make a dipping sauce with butter and hot sauce goes well. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
I did as the recipe poster suggested and used chicken breasts cut up into finger like pieces instead of drumsticks. They did cook faster and absorbed more marinade than the drumsticks did. I also added garlic powder, about 1/4 cup white vinegar and cayenne pepper to the marinade (my hubby likes things spicy). Ran low on coating mixture towards the end and thought I had ruined the last batch, but it turned out great regardless. Have made several times and intend to continue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUNNYGRRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temple Hills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2003
My oldest son WOULD NOT eat chicken....until I made this recipe. It has a nice kick to it and I would liken the recipe to Popeye's Chicken and Biscuits Chicken Strips. A variation on this recipe would be to dip it into an egg mixture before the flour/cornstarch mixture and deep fry it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
One word, "YUM". That's what everyone said when my husband made this recipe. It was so easy and really good. I can't wait 'til the next time he makes it. Thanks for your recipe, Tisha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2004
Excellent recipe! I let the drumsticks soak overnight- and it was delicious! Fixed a boneless breast for my mother - she loved it!!! We will definitely be fixing this one on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
this recipie was a big hit for a dinner party i had. they were very delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi Myers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
Great recipe. Next time I will add 1/4 t. to 1/2 t. of cayenne to the flour to kick up flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
Delicious!!!! The only thing I did different was add a lil seasoning salt prior to marinating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
Just got done eating. Me and my girlfriend loved it! Also, it was my first attempt at a fried chicken recipe. I used Red Devil sauce to marinate. Not spicy enough for my taste. Next time, I'll probably try tabasco or something hotter! Either way, this turned out excellent. I give it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Triple-Dipped Fried Chicken

See how to make the crispiest, tastiest homemade fried chicken ever.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States