Firecracker Fried Chicken Drumsticks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
great, thank you for showing me a different way to make fry chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Romana, La Romana, Dominican Republic
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I made this recipe a second time and it came out much better than the first. I only marinated it for two hours, but I added lots of cayenne pepper with the flour and also with the marinade. The egg wash worked very well and next time I'll add the seasoned salt to see what kind of flavor and kick comes out of that combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
I followed the recipe but somehow my chicken came out pretty gross. The coating did not taste good and on medium high heat they were done in way less than 25 mins, and even then they got burnt on one side. I would not try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
My whole family liked this! I did make a few changes. I marinated the chicken legs with skin in hot sauce & Chili powder for 2 hours, rubbing the marinade under the skin as well. Then made an egg wash with milk & eggs, then made a breading with flour, garlic salt & chili powder. I deep fried it first to get a crispy brown skin, then baked it for about 15 minutes on 400 degrees & it turned out great! Will definitely make again! Though next time I may try skinless boneless chicken breast cut in strips. Served with hot sauce & butter dip & ranch! YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
We love this chicken. Easy to make and makes for good leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Where's the heat??? I marinated for 8 hours and couldn't detect any spiciness at all. I used Tabasco and would have thought it would have some punch. As fried chicken goes, it was okay, but we were disappointed that we had to get liberal with the Tabasco at the table in order to tickle our tastebuds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This recipe was very good, I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
These were awesome. My fiance said that this is his new favorite chicken wing. The only downfall is that I didn't marinate these long enough (only 2 hours), so there was only a hint of the hot sauce on the chicken. I actually used a 3 lb bag of chicken wings and multiplied everything else by 4. I added a little paprika and cayenne pepper to the flour mixture, and I deep fried the chicken. I was nervous about putting so many chicken wings in the bag to coat, but it coated them very well. This is a great, fast technique. I heated up some hot sauce with butter (equal amounts of each)and some garlic powder and pepper on the stove for dipping in fear that they wouldn't be hot enough since I didn't marinate them long enough. We dipped our chicken in the hot sauce mixture and also had a side of ranch for dipping. I will definitely make these again, but next time I will marinate them for at least 24 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lili Goehring

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
This was not a healthy dinner. My family and I like spicy, but, this wasn't that spicy after marinating for 8 hours. I even added Red Hot to the egg/milk mix before dipping it in the cornmeal breading. I also am not a fan of frying and the breading didn't stay on even after dipping in the egg mix. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Przybylski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Definitely marinate overnight, it's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Triple-Dipped Fried Chicken

See how to make the crispiest, tastiest homemade fried chicken ever.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States