Firecracker Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I made this for dinner tonight and both my husband and son had seconds. It is absolutely phenomenal! The only changes that I made (out of necessity) was to use six tortillas instead of four because mine were the small ones and the family sized can of cream of mushroom, again because it is what I had on hand. I am adding this to the regular rotation. Thanks lajune for a phenomenal new spin on the Mexican casserole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
This was wonderful! I made this last night for my family and it was delicious. The only two changes that I made were that I substituted one package of taco seasoning mix for the chili powder (I still added the ground cumin) and then I also crumbled up leftover hard taco shells and sprinkled them right underneath the cheese. This gave the dish a nice texture. The flavor was wonderful and we will certainly eat this dish on a regular basis! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Made this for dinner tonight, and it is delicious! The only thing I changed was that I added a can of whole kernel corn (drained) to the meat mixture. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
delicious as written, but I think next time I may use corn tortillas and mix part of the tomato/cream of mushroom soup in with the hamburger to make it less dry. May try Mexican cheese blend also. Thanks lajune!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Wow! How good is this recipe! And so easy, I can't believe it. Next time I think I'll cut the meat to 1 1/2 lbs and add in a can of corn just for fun. I will definitely be making this many times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandaz13

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
This recipe is wonderful!! The only change I made was, I only had a 1 1/2 pounds of ground beef and it turned out just great. I think it might have been a little dry with 2 pounds of ground beef. REALLY REALLY good recipe. I went back for seconds, and I never do that!! Will make again for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Divaluangraj
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I loved this recipe, I left out the beans. I used two cups of fat free cheese. Also I shredded up the tortillas. Next time I will only use 1 1/2 LB Hamb, use Mexican blend cheese and add 1/4 enchilada sauce to the hamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Divaluangraj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This is almost the same recipe that I got from Taste of Home magazine years ago. It is my husbands favorite dish. I do change it by using kidney beans because we don't like black. I also pour the rotel/soup mixture of the meat mixture, then add a layer of crushed tostitos, and then add the cheese. These changes came after making the original recipe. Thanks for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I used salsa instead of tomatoes, and i didn't have ground cumin so i used crushed coliander seeds, and just mixed everything together, i might leave out the shells, they get slimy, and then top it with cheese then taco chips and cheese again... such a good flavor, i think the coliander made it almost taste like it had a hint of lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
This recipe is awesome! Great taste, quick and easy plus my family loves it. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazyquilt

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole

See how to make a cheesy chicken and corn tortilla casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States