Fire Roasted Vegetarian Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Daniel den Hoed
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
This was a great way to use tons of veggies from the summer garden! It was my first time making gumbo but my husband and I bothe enjoyed it. We followed the recipe except instead of using a can of fire roasted tomatoes I used 4-5 fresh tomatoes from the garden and roasted them in the oven at the same time as the peppers. Just a word to the wise - gumbo seasoning can be very spicey so if you do not like spicey food be careful and do not add 2 whole TBSP! We served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
This is a very good recipe, although it is seriously high maintenance. I followed the directions very closely (although I never figured out what 'file powder' was/is) and it still had a nice kick to it. I ate this with whole wheat bread and my husband ate it with crackers--both were excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilBearinka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
This was so flavorful, had a good amount of spice, and a great texture. I didn't have file powder or use parsnips. I roasted corn along with the peppers and added it to a cornbread mix for a side. I will make this gumbo again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I loved this gumbo, even though I did make a few changes. My grocer was out of serrano peppers so I used a mirasol pepper instead. I also used only two green peppers, and added two red bell peppers. I didn't have smoked paprika so I used regular old paprika. I left out the parsnip, the celery, and the black-eye peas because I don't like those. Next time, I think I'll halve the kidney beans and the okra and double the green and red peppers. Truly a delicious and adaptable recipe. One of the best Gumbos I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustNaz9

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This recipe has some serious flaws, and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone else in its current form. First of all, if you add the sweet potatoes and parsnips so late in the process, not all of them will cook all the way through. When I made it, many of the chunks were still crunchy. Second, file powder is an end spice - you should not add it and then simmer for 30 minutes. The result will be slimy and unappetizing, as I found out when I made it. I like the ideas of the roasted peppers and the various spices, but not enough to salvage it overall. Thumbs down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This recipe features a bit of unnecessary juggling IF you have a sufficiently thick-bottomed pot (I use an ex-pressure-cooker). Cook the roux right in the pot, and the veg will saute nicely in the roux.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
First time trying it. Very DELICIOUS! The spices were perfect. I couldn't find any file powder but used corn starch instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
this recipe needs serious work to be anything edible. The vegetables and spices compete with each other too much to make a complimentary dish. back to the drawing board.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Wonderful, full flavour. I skipped the file powder, like some of the other reviewers I didn't have any on hand. I love spice & was skeptical of the instruction to toss the seeds of the hot peppers - perhaps in part because I only had 2 banana peppers & 1 jalapeno. I'm glad I kept them because when I opened the can of fire roasted tomatoes they didn't have any heat at all. Not sure if this is the norm. - anyway, I added the seeds when the tomatoes went in. I also added a teaspoon of crushed chili flakes. Thank you so much for this recipe!! I've never made gumbo before and although it can be a bit work-intensive, I will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States