Fire-Roasted Tomato and Spinach Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Used two overly ripe tomatoes and a jar of pickled jalapeno juice, dried onion powder, and dried garlic powder; simmered then added the box of creamed spinach. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
This is a perfect, easy, weekday meal - as is!!! Don't change a thing. Use the recommended ingredients as well. Use FIRE ROASTED Tomatoes, Use CREAMED spinach. If your looking for an uncomplicated pantry meal, this is it. Go meatless for one night!! No one will notice. If your looking for a more complex meal, try another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hillery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Caribou, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
This was really light and yummy. I loved the type of noodles used (linguine) it was the first time that I have had them. I also loved that there was no real tomato sauce that drenched the whole thing. It was easy to make. We didn't use creamed spinach. Just regular frozen spinach. And we used some of the fat from the left over chicken in place of the oil to saute the garlic. And no salt or pepper either. Made 4 servings for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CheeryWazel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
As written only 3 stars. Too bland as written. 5 stars for simplicity. Changes I made were adding: paprika, onion powder, more garlic, Italian seasoning, oregano and a bay leaf. I did not have creamed spinach so I creamed the frozen spinach using butter and a bit of milk and nutmeg. I also added a can of seasoned tomato sauce and a couple tablespoons of white wine and simmered for at least 45 minutes. I used a 12 oz can of fire roasted tomatoes and a 12 oz frozen bag of spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CFUCHSLAO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hato Rey, San Juan, Puerto Rico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
GREAT!! Took review advice and added extra garlic and onions, as well as a couple pieces of bacon. Couldn't find CREAMED spinach, so used frozen chopped. Creamed would probably make an even better sauce, will try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Steelville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Decorah, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
What a great pantry meal! I was in a rush to get dinner on the table and had no time to get groceries. I sautéed an onion with some frozen garlic, added the fire roasted tomatoes and simmered. I added some capers for some bite. I ad no creamed spinach on hand, so I just chopped what greens I had left in the fridge and threw in some spreadable cream cheese instead. I added a can of tuna for protein, and served it with spaghetti noodles and grated Parmesan. Delish! Definitely going into the busy weeknight rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
My family loved this! I have two who don't like tomato chunks so I pureed the tomatoes, used fresh spinach instead of frozen and I cut 2 chicken breasts in to bite size pieces, cooked and added to the tomatoes & spinach. I served it over spaghetti noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu Gard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Damascus, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Very bland, but a good base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
This recipe has such a rich flavor you would believe that the ingredients are frozen and canned. I serve it over penne pasta and add cooked shrimp to the sauce at the end just until they are heated through. This sauce is great for dipping bread in, too. Don't let any go to waste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
this is a regular for me. i made my own creamed spinach-i sautee thawed chopped spinach, onions, garlic, cream cheese, parmesean cheese, black pepper, lemon juice, white wine and chicken broth. i'm not sure of the amounts, i just make it according to taste but i know use alot more garlic then called for. and i also add crushed red pepper. excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Pasta with Asparagus, Salmon and Tomato

Salmon combines with fresh asparagus and cherry tomatoes in this simple pasta.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States