Fire and Ice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
I made this recipe for a family party. My grandfather loved it so much it is now my job to make this for every family gathering. The whole family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
Made this for a holiday party. It was good but not as great as I expected. I let it set for 8 hours, but I would recommend letting it set for longer. It didn't have as much of a 'kick' as I thought, so next time I will add more cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Slatington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
Excellent. This turned out so good. I made it the night before and let it marinate overnight, cutting up the cucumbers and adding them about 20 minutes before. It's so tangy and the dressing would be AWESOME served on a salad. I had 3 people ask me for the recipe for this today when I served it at my sons birthday party. I used orange and yellow peppers instead of green because I love the flavor of them so much more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2004
Today is the third time I have made this salad. Friends and family really like the light, refreshing quality - especially when the weather is hot. I had a few unexpected guests for dinner today, so to stretch the salad I added some fusilli pasta that I broke into small pieces before cooking. Not a morsel remained!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Playa Del Carmen, Quintana Roo, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
i give this recipe one star to match the ONE (out of more than a dozen people)person who actually liked this salad.i had high hopes for this salad but was utterly disapointed. i followed this recipe EXACTLY as described,so i object to any blame...well i do take some blame ..i shouldnt have wasted my time with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wyattdogster
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Very tasty, I love the hot and sour flavors. Can't wait to make this in the summer with homegrown vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2003
I really liked this recipe and so did my eight year old. I put the cucumbers in with everything else and let it sit a day. If making the recipe my way -take the seeds out of the cucumbers or it will water down your sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
DELICIOUS! Light, refreshing and crisp. We like hot so we used a full teaspoon of the Cayene pepper. It was just right for us. Be advised though - the heat from the Cayenne tends to take a bit of time to really flavor the salad. If you are not sure how much heat you like, add the recommended amount, let it sit for 20 minutes and taste. We used 1 tablespoon of sugar and it was just right. Will be making this often. Next version will be to add some pasta! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
I made this almost 5 years ago to be had with Christmas dinner, so my memory of it is a little fuzzy. The only reason I'm giving it 4 stars instead of 5 is, admittedly, my fault. I think this recipe would be a perfect summertime one, and in the winter when you're relying on hothouses for your tomatoes and cucumbers and peppers, it loses a little something. It's still really tasty. I can't believe I haven't made it again, as I've intended to all along. Definitely will, next season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
Nice salad, I made it with vary little Cayenne since one of our guests doesn't like spicy food and then after I served that person I sprinkled chili powder... it was very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bogota, Distrito Capital De Bogota, Colombia
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States