Finnish Turnips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
These were good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I will be passing this recipe on to my father-in-law, as well as using it again. With the kids helping we ended up with about a quarter cup extra crushed cornflakes and I used them all. I'll probably stick with that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShellLea77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
made this for the family and it was a hit so would make again! Thanks for the recipe! :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelly
Home Town: Dawson Creek, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Cold Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I made this for Thanksgiving. The family was not impressed. If I try it again I will mash the turnips and put the corn lakes only on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tikibyrd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I found this dish to be lacking character. To start with, it is too sweet. If you remove the brown sugar, you basically have a turnip omlette with some breadcrumbs thrown in. It is very rich and very unhealthy, and if I'm going to eat something like that, I want it to taste better than this! It needs some spices (nutmeg and ginger maybe?), and one review suggested mashing the turnips. Maybe that would help too. If I were to make this again, I might try those modifications, but I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
I am not real familiar with turnips but couldn't resist the beautiful white and purple vegatables I found in the market. This looked like a good recipe so I forged ahead. Every step is really easy and I learned that boiling turnips takes much less time than potatoes. I have only made this recipe once so have not had the chance to try variations. As written, however, it is delicious. It impressed my guest who is a gourmand. I did not have corn flakes so crunched up corn chex which worked perfectly. My advice is have your guests hang out in the kitchen. When it comes out of the oven it is so beautifully tall and golden! I agree with others who said it could double as a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I love this recipe, but have to give it 4 out of 5 only because of the alterations I made to the recipe (I only give 5 out of 5 if I love the recipe after making it exactly as written). I use one medium turnip and halve the remainder of the ingredients. Also, I use 5% cream instead of heavy whipping cream and only a tablespoon of brown sugar Splenda instead of regular brown sugar. Not too sweet, and not too heavy. When I made this recipe with the modifications, my parents - who are both Finn and grew up on their respective mothers' turnip "casseroles" - said that these were the best turnips they'd ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
My hubby and I both enjoyed this very much!I did use 1/2 c. carnation evaporated with 1/2 cup 1% milk.Thankyou.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
It would have helped if the directions had stated to mash the turnips, perhaps it could be edited to include that in the directions. Otherwise, very good and will make it again. We raise our own and always have plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This was so tasty it could have been dessert. I don't think I'll ever be able to prepare turnips any other way. Even my resident "non-veggie" eater couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Saucy Brussels Sprouts

Learn how to make tasty Brussels sprouts in a warm orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States