Finnish Summer Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I love this recipe! My stepmom made this soup for my family all the time as a kid. I did make some (significant) changes to the recipe: First off, the recipe calls for 6 cups of green onions, but I think it means 6 green onions - that's what I used. Second, I added baby spinach and 1/2 a cauliflower. I also used about twice as much water as called for (in general, use enough to cover your vegetables), and the texture/flavor were still perfect. For seasoning, I used 1/4 tsp of black pepper and a 1/4 tsp of white pepper, as well as some garlic powder. I also highly recommend using fresh baby dill (I was out so I used dried dill) in the soup and garnishing each bowl with it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Terry Inskip
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I live in Finland but am not Finnish. For those who think this soup weak, bland, or with non-mixing veggies... this is a traditional Finnish soup made with what is on hand. It is served as a started for a long summer meal that usually includes -after- steamed potatoes with marinated herrings of various styles, smoked fishes, salads, and the like. It is a bland soup, no chicken stock or anything, but using, as KEY factor, all FRESH vegetables. True baby carrots, not shaved ones, fresh peas that we shell, cauliflower or broccoli, and young potatoes wit barely any skin on them. What is delicious about it is the sheer wonder of the flavors of every vegetable. If you do not use fresh, do not make this. It just won't work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2000
Maryanne, thank you for submitting this recipe. This soup was my Swedish father's favorite "taste of home" and it is wonderful to have the recipe. My family added (with the potatoes) a handful of beet stems, cut into 1" - 2" lengths. We also used more pepper and added a tiny bit of garlic. People who do not tolerate milk will find that this particular combination of vegetables makes a tasty side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Omg, delicious!! I did add some chicken boullion to the soup for extra flavor and had to use frozen peas. I also did cut back some on the 1/2 and 1/2. Also I added the carrots in with the potatoes about 5 minutes before they were done. Loved this and can't wait to make again! Some asparagus would be nice in this too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fanciful Unicorn
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I made this soup with a little bit less green beans and a small amount of diced shallot in place of the green onions because that was what I had on hand and I absolutely loved this soup! It is simple to make and very mild and creamy. Thanks for this great recipe, I will be making it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fanciful Unicorn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
This is really tasty and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
When I was a child growing up, after a day at the beach with swimming lessons, I loved coming home to this soup for supper - Mom could never seem to make enough of it. She was a big fan of Pacific Condensed Milk, so used that instead of half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
My family of 6 calls this a "keeper". Very good, check it out. I also added spinach and diced ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buckley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I'm from the east coast of Canada; we call this hodgepodge!! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
The first time I made this I didn't change anything and it was very good, but with my family they like some type of meat in their soup. =( So I just made this soup again but instead of water I used chicken broth and added some cooked chicken at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alilabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States