Finnish Pulla Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
My family is Finnish and we make this every year for Christmas! This version is very similar to what we use, however we use 1-2 tablespoons of fresh ground cardamon (the flavor is just delicious!) Like other reviewers have mentioned, we generously add a mixture of melted butter and brown sugar to the top before baking. So glad others enjoy Finn food! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I made a half recipe. It was easy to manage without a mixer and made two reasonably sized loaves. I took others advice and used 1/2 Tbsp cardamom and baked at 350. I topped with Swedish pearl sugar. The texture is wonderful, moist and tender. The big problem with this is to save enough to give for gifts. I'd really like to sit here and eat the whole batch myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Wow. I am Finnish(American) and this was the first time i made this. My husband ate a loaf and the kids finished off the rest, Froze one and gave a gift to the new neighbor. On top of the egg-wash i added a topping of sugar, cinnamon, and cardamom. Depending on the size of loaves this will make more than 3. The house smells amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colts Neck, New Jersey, USA
Living In: West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I have always loved this bread. both my parents are finnish and my mum has always made it. Mum puts slivers of almond as well as sugar on top before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wingysmissus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Koitos! Just like mummo used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I made 12 servings or 1 loaf. Tasted really good but it got burnt on the top and would have probably burned on the bottom too but I turned the oven off for the last 8 minutes of cooking time. Next time, I'll decrease the cooking temperature to 350 degrees. Served with "Honey Butter." I've never had any type of Finnish Pulla so I have nothing to compare this too. The cardamom/sugar sweetness tasted really good though. Last of all, I sprinkled some sugar in the raw on top after using the egg wash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Turned out so well! Used a heaping tablespoon of cardamom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I've tried a few recipes for Pulla, and this is the closest to the heaven my Finnish grandmother used to make. Like her, I glaze my loaves with 1/4 c water and 1/4 c sugar boiled for a couple of minutes, and top with coarse sugar. She used to make pulla doughnuts, deep fried and tossed with sugar in a bag. I haven't tried this because I know I will eat at least 23! As per others, lower the temperature as the sugar in the loaves burns easily. I use a scant tablespoon of ground cardamom or crushed cardamom seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bathurst, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Bracebridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
This recipe is very close to the one that my family makes each Christmas so it must be good. I won't be straying from my family recipe but for those of you out there making this bread here's a tip: Put at least 1 tablespoon of cardamom in. If you're worried about the spiciness of it, don't, there is plenty of sugar in there to balance it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Not impressed, very dry even when reduced baking time a lot. Dough did not taste nearly as good as most sweet dough recipes, even imagining without cardamom. Dough was easy to work with & did turn out pretty. Used extra cardamom as many suggested, but was too much for me. Better as cinnamon rolls with currants. Would like to try adding just a bit of cardamom to my favorite sweet dough recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by otisthorpe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States