Finnish Pulla Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
The dough came out a little tough, but I loved the taste! Really wonderful scent and it got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pawcatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
A family tradition and I had lost my great grandmother's recipe (mumu) thanks so much for sharing this, heading to the kitchen right now. We used brown sugar and cinnamon on top or a butter cream frosting with halved marichino cherries on it. Very pretty at Christmas time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
My family is Finnish and we make this every year for Christmas! This version is very similar to what we use, however we use 1-2 tablespoons of fresh ground cardamon (the flavor is just delicious!) Like other reviewers have mentioned, we generously add a mixture of melted butter and brown sugar to the top before baking. So glad others enjoy Finn food! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I made a half recipe. It was easy to manage without a mixer and made two reasonably sized loaves. I took others advice and used 1/2 Tbsp cardamom and baked at 350. I topped with Swedish pearl sugar. The texture is wonderful, moist and tender. The big problem with this is to save enough to give for gifts. I'd really like to sit here and eat the whole batch myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Wow. I am Finnish(American) and this was the first time i made this. My husband ate a loaf and the kids finished off the rest, Froze one and gave a gift to the new neighbor. On top of the egg-wash i added a topping of sugar, cinnamon, and cardamom. Depending on the size of loaves this will make more than 3. The house smells amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colts Neck, New Jersey, USA
Living In: West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I have always loved this bread. both my parents are finnish and my mum has always made it. Mum puts slivers of almond as well as sugar on top before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wingysmissus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Koitos! Just like mummo used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I made 12 servings or 1 loaf. Tasted really good but it got burnt on the top and would have probably burned on the bottom too but I turned the oven off for the last 8 minutes of cooking time. Next time, I'll decrease the cooking temperature to 350 degrees. Served with "Honey Butter." I've never had any type of Finnish Pulla so I have nothing to compare this too. The cardamom/sugar sweetness tasted really good though. Last of all, I sprinkled some sugar in the raw on top after using the egg wash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Turned out so well! Used a heaping tablespoon of cardamom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I've tried a few recipes for Pulla, and this is the closest to the heaven my Finnish grandmother used to make. Like her, I glaze my loaves with 1/4 c water and 1/4 c sugar boiled for a couple of minutes, and top with coarse sugar. She used to make pulla doughnuts, deep fried and tossed with sugar in a bag. I haven't tried this because I know I will eat at least 23! As per others, lower the temperature as the sugar in the loaves burns easily. I use a scant tablespoon of ground cardamom or crushed cardamom seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bathurst, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Bracebridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Chef John's Dutch Baby

See how to make quick, easy, impressive Dutch babies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States