Finnish Pulla Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I had a miserable time with this bread! It didn't rise after being punched down and was very dense. I attribute this more to my lack of experience and was perhaps a bit too ambitious in this endeavor. Had I done it properly, I'm sure it would have been quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stultiloquence

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I had never heard of Pulla before, but this recipe sounded good. And, I'll tell you I was not at all disappointed. This was not hard to make (as yeast breads go), and is fantastic as a breakfast bread. Cardamom is my new favorite spice....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOKLMEMBER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Lovely, chewy texture & a hearty, yeasty taste. Just sweet enough with a thin icing glaze on top. I did have to use a lot more flour than the recipe called for to be able to handle the dough w/o it being sticky. More like 8.5-9 cups. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I found that if 10 cups of milk are added, as well as 5 cups of white sugar and candy canes, it taste terrible. so i just made it like your supposed to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
The dough came out a little tough, but I loved the taste! Really wonderful scent and it got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pawcatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
A family tradition and I had lost my great grandmother's recipe (mumu) thanks so much for sharing this, heading to the kitchen right now. We used brown sugar and cinnamon on top or a butter cream frosting with halved marichino cherries on it. Very pretty at Christmas time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
My family is Finnish and we make this every year for Christmas! This version is very similar to what we use, however we use 1-2 tablespoons of fresh ground cardamon (the flavor is just delicious!) Like other reviewers have mentioned, we generously add a mixture of melted butter and brown sugar to the top before baking. So glad others enjoy Finn food! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I made a half recipe. It was easy to manage without a mixer and made two reasonably sized loaves. I took others advice and used 1/2 Tbsp cardamom and baked at 350. I topped with Swedish pearl sugar. The texture is wonderful, moist and tender. The big problem with this is to save enough to give for gifts. I'd really like to sit here and eat the whole batch myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Wow. I am Finnish(American) and this was the first time i made this. My husband ate a loaf and the kids finished off the rest, Froze one and gave a gift to the new neighbor. On top of the egg-wash i added a topping of sugar, cinnamon, and cardamom. Depending on the size of loaves this will make more than 3. The house smells amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colts Neck, New Jersey, USA
Living In: West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I have always loved this bread. both my parents are finnish and my mum has always made it. Mum puts slivers of almond as well as sugar on top before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wingysmissus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Chef John's Dutch Baby

See how to make quick, easy, impressive Dutch babies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States