Finnish Pulla Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Perfect recipe and a very nice unique flavored bread. I have hand made bread a few times. Working with this dough was easier than I thought it would be, even though I have Carpal tunnel problems with my hands. I think I would prefer adding raisins and an icing topping to make this a sweeter bread, as it seemed a little "flat" tasting. Or maybe a little more salt would compliment the wonderful Cardomon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Being of Finnish descent myself, I grew up on this delicious bread, and it seems that just about everyone who makes it has a slightly different recipe, but they're all good. An extra delicious way to eat pulla is to toast it so that it's warm and your butter or margarine just melts into it. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Canterbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Wow. I just finished this (and I mean JUST; it's cooling now), and I had to take time out to write a review. THIS IS AMAZING. Best bread I've had, best recipe I've tried from this site. I wish I could give 10 stars. I don't know if there will be any left to take to my family dinner tonight! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessiey Siney

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newark, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I made this for Christmas morning breakfast/brunch. I wouldn't venture to do this in the same fashion--staying up all night before so I can wrap gifts and make batter. But, it really paid off!! Definitely need a kithenaid mixer for this, I'd go insane doing this by hand. Cardamom is a great spice and a generous amount is helpful. Next time, I'll bake it at 375 and see if that might lessen the browning on top. At 400 it was a little too crunchy on top, but the middle still stayed moist and yummy, not dry. I had reaheated the leftovers next day in the oven and it still tasted delicious. What a great recipe for a family with 3 kids!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spsteeds

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I had a miserable time with this bread! It didn't rise after being punched down and was very dense. I attribute this more to my lack of experience and was perhaps a bit too ambitious in this endeavor. Had I done it properly, I'm sure it would have been quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stultiloquence

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I had never heard of Pulla before, but this recipe sounded good. And, I'll tell you I was not at all disappointed. This was not hard to make (as yeast breads go), and is fantastic as a breakfast bread. Cardamom is my new favorite spice....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOKLMEMBER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Lovely, chewy texture & a hearty, yeasty taste. Just sweet enough with a thin icing glaze on top. I did have to use a lot more flour than the recipe called for to be able to handle the dough w/o it being sticky. More like 8.5-9 cups. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I found that if 10 cups of milk are added, as well as 5 cups of white sugar and candy canes, it taste terrible. so i just made it like your supposed to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
The dough came out a little tough, but I loved the taste! Really wonderful scent and it got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pawcatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
A family tradition and I had lost my great grandmother's recipe (mumu) thanks so much for sharing this, heading to the kitchen right now. We used brown sugar and cinnamon on top or a butter cream frosting with halved marichino cherries on it. Very pretty at Christmas time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States