Finnish Pulla Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
My Mummu (Finnish for Grandma) was well known for her Pulla and cinnamon rolls. We only used milk (no water) and melted the butter in the milk on the stove (just warm, not hot). Look for something called pearl sugar in the Swedish part of the international section of your grocery store. It's like a puffed sugar that's great on this. The other commenter mentioned the cinnamon rolls - they're awesome, but we used brown sugar instead of white (I'm sure either is good). Also, when you roll it up, you can cut it at an angle and then press down with the back end of a knife on the short end (imagine a short side with two 45' angles out to the long side) to squish out the sides a bit - hope that makes some sense... http://i198.photobucket.com/albums/aa278/crudo20/Pulla.jpg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I am Finnish on my mothers side and she loves my pulla! I use my breadmaker to do the dough on the 2hour 25 min mode and i put in all the ingredients (extra cardamom!) as listed and then after bread had risen and gone thru 2 kneading cycle i add raisins for one more kneading cycle (otherwide they get chopped up) I then divide the dough as instructed and make the braided variety with the egg wash , and slivered almonds. So easy i make on the event day ie Christmas , Easter or whenver i need it, My family is always so happy i can do this as my mother is happy to have someone else do it! I love this pulla!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jules
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
PERFECT. This works with soy milk, which is what I used. My grandpa is a linguist and has done quite a bit of service in Finland, he knew exactly what this was when he saw it. I had some trouble in the mixing process-- no bread mixer, so didn't get as much beating into it as hoped, but it didn't cause any problems. 2nd stage of rising I put it in the oven @ 170 degrees F for about an hour. Beautiful bread. Oh, I cooked only one loaf at first, and it does NOT need 30 minutes.. it started getting too done at 24, I'm guessing 20-22 would've been even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Absolutely awesome bread. I did make some mistakes the first time that I will correct the second time. First, it seemed to make 3 overly large breads. Next time, I will make 5 smaller braids that are longer than they are wide. (I had a problem with 2 of the breads being too wide and they didn't bake inside.) Next time, I will also put cinnamon and sugar with butter inside, and roll up the bread tightly and seal it so it doesn't seep out. (One of the breads that I didn't tightly seal seeped, and the bottom of the bread burned on the seeped sugar.) My bread (the one that came out perfect) looked like #10photo, with cinnamon and sugar sprinkled on top. Next time I will also try some icing. Wonderful bread. Similar to a bakery bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I scaled the recipe to 2 loaves. Substitutions - water in place of milk, slightly reduced the sugar, lard in place of butter, 50% more cardamom. 3 rises. whole egg only wash. 3 strand braid baked at 375 till internal temperature of the loaf is 190. 5 star result with a unique flavor (never tasted cardamom before). Great crumb, great crust, everybody I gave a sample to liked it. Will make again if I need a dessert type of bread. Probably will add a glaze or granulated sugar to the egg wash, cardamom and sweet go together, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Very yummy, just a subtle sweetness. However, even only baking at 350 degree for 25 minutes, the bottoms burnt. So next time I would lower the temp to 325. I also divided the dough further so I ended up with six mini braids. This would have been perfect for holiday gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakn4thekids

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Perfect recipe and a very nice unique flavored bread. I have hand made bread a few times. Working with this dough was easier than I thought it would be, even though I have Carpal tunnel problems with my hands. I think I would prefer adding raisins and an icing topping to make this a sweeter bread, as it seemed a little "flat" tasting. Or maybe a little more salt would compliment the wonderful Cardomon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Being of Finnish descent myself, I grew up on this delicious bread, and it seems that just about everyone who makes it has a slightly different recipe, but they're all good. An extra delicious way to eat pulla is to toast it so that it's warm and your butter or margarine just melts into it. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Canterbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Wow. I just finished this (and I mean JUST; it's cooling now), and I had to take time out to write a review. THIS IS AMAZING. Best bread I've had, best recipe I've tried from this site. I wish I could give 10 stars. I don't know if there will be any left to take to my family dinner tonight! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessiey Siney

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newark, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I made this for Christmas morning breakfast/brunch. I wouldn't venture to do this in the same fashion--staying up all night before so I can wrap gifts and make batter. But, it really paid off!! Definitely need a kithenaid mixer for this, I'd go insane doing this by hand. Cardamom is a great spice and a generous amount is helpful. Next time, I'll bake it at 375 and see if that might lessen the browning on top. At 400 it was a little too crunchy on top, but the middle still stayed moist and yummy, not dry. I had reaheated the leftovers next day in the oven and it still tasted delicious. What a great recipe for a family with 3 kids!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spsteeds

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Chef John's Dutch Baby

See how to make quick, easy, impressive Dutch babies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States