Finnish Pulla Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Time consuming, but very tasty! Makes great french toast too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
The time it took to make this was worth it! We had it Christmas Eve with dinner, and then used it to make french toast Christmas morning. Definitely a keepr
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansdale, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
We really like this bread. I LOVE cardamom and this bread is so soft. I followed another's advice and doubled the cardamom, which I am glad I did because I don't think I would have tasted it otherwise. I also made it into two large cinnamon roll logs and baked them on stoneware, I didn't have any problem with burning. They baked beautifully. We ate one of the logs and used the other for bread pudding, which was the best I have ever had. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Delicious! BUT BE CAREFUL with bottom burning! I guess I had it coming to me since I used different pans b/c I just moved and didn't have baking sheets so each loaf cooked a little differently. I burned some but not so bad that you can't eat it. The ones that didn't burn are amazingly delicious and soft! I read a review that said 350 for 30 min. instead of 400...I agree. I will def. try this next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Wow! This is remarkable. I had never tried Pulla before and now I'm hooked. It wouldn't be difficult to eat an entire loaf in one sitting. It took me a very long time due to the dough being slow to rise but it was well worth the effort. It turned out great. I used an egg wash with a little milk and sprinkled with sugar before I baked and after it came out I made a glaze of 1/4 c. sugar & 1/4 c. water heated on the stove and brushed the bread. Yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I'd never baked with cardamon before, but it really leaves a pleasant subtle flavor on your tongue. This bread is perfect for breakfast, or with a cup of coffee for an afternoon snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beamgal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washougal, Washington, USA
Living In: Camas, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Yummy bread. We used cinnamon in place of cardamon. Also, as with the previous reviews, the oven temperature must be lower, 350 or 375. You just really have to watch it. My husband's foster father was Finnish and made this when my husband was growing up. He would coat the finished baked bread loaves with Karo syrup, which we did. Then on each of the three loaves we sprinkled either brown sugar, large decorator sugar or cinnamon sugar. Slice it thin, and enjoy. Oh, one other thing you can do is watch some "how to" youTube videos on how to roll and braid the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hwoodred

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Thank you for this recipe, my gramma and Mom used to make this at Christmas and I haven't found her recipe in her books - I think it was so memorized, it didn't need to be written down. When I was little and this got "stale" Grannie used to cut it into small pieces like biscotti brush with melted butter, add sugar and cinnamon and bake in the oven until crisp - then we used to dunk it in our coffe - which we could have on Sundays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Perfect! Having 3 loaves to deal with wasn't a problem! This reminded me of my wonderful semester abroad in Rovaniemi, Finland. When I opened up that jar of cardamom, it brought back so many good memories :) Best served warm with coffee, like the Finns do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
This was only my second time making bread and it was sooooo good. I thought braiding the loaves would be really difficult but it really wasn't. My biggest problem was actually rolling out the braid logs lol. It was so sweet and had such a great flavor. I ended up making 6 mini loaves. I will definitely making this again. The time it took was definitely worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eclarkson09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Kansas, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Chef John's Dutch Baby

See how to make quick, easy, impressive Dutch babies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States