Finnish Pulla Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Delicious! BUT BE CAREFUL with bottom burning! I guess I had it coming to me since I used different pans b/c I just moved and didn't have baking sheets so each loaf cooked a little differently. I burned some but not so bad that you can't eat it. The ones that didn't burn are amazingly delicious and soft! I read a review that said 350 for 30 min. instead of 400...I agree. I will def. try this next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Wow! This is remarkable. I had never tried Pulla before and now I'm hooked. It wouldn't be difficult to eat an entire loaf in one sitting. It took me a very long time due to the dough being slow to rise but it was well worth the effort. It turned out great. I used an egg wash with a little milk and sprinkled with sugar before I baked and after it came out I made a glaze of 1/4 c. sugar & 1/4 c. water heated on the stove and brushed the bread. Yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I'd never baked with cardamon before, but it really leaves a pleasant subtle flavor on your tongue. This bread is perfect for breakfast, or with a cup of coffee for an afternoon snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beamgal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washougal, Washington, USA
Living In: Camas, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Yummy bread. We used cinnamon in place of cardamon. Also, as with the previous reviews, the oven temperature must be lower, 350 or 375. You just really have to watch it. My husband's foster father was Finnish and made this when my husband was growing up. He would coat the finished baked bread loaves with Karo syrup, which we did. Then on each of the three loaves we sprinkled either brown sugar, large decorator sugar or cinnamon sugar. Slice it thin, and enjoy. Oh, one other thing you can do is watch some "how to" youTube videos on how to roll and braid the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hwoodred

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Thank you for this recipe, my gramma and Mom used to make this at Christmas and I haven't found her recipe in her books - I think it was so memorized, it didn't need to be written down. When I was little and this got "stale" Grannie used to cut it into small pieces like biscotti brush with melted butter, add sugar and cinnamon and bake in the oven until crisp - then we used to dunk it in our coffe - which we could have on Sundays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Perfect! Having 3 loaves to deal with wasn't a problem! This reminded me of my wonderful semester abroad in Rovaniemi, Finland. When I opened up that jar of cardamom, it brought back so many good memories :) Best served warm with coffee, like the Finns do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
This was only my second time making bread and it was sooooo good. I thought braiding the loaves would be really difficult but it really wasn't. My biggest problem was actually rolling out the braid logs lol. It was so sweet and had such a great flavor. I ended up making 6 mini loaves. I will definitely making this again. The time it took was definitely worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eclarkson09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Kansas, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
My Mummu (Finnish for Grandma) was well known for her Pulla and cinnamon rolls. We only used milk (no water) and melted the butter in the milk on the stove (just warm, not hot). Look for something called pearl sugar in the Swedish part of the international section of your grocery store. It's like a puffed sugar that's great on this. The other commenter mentioned the cinnamon rolls - they're awesome, but we used brown sugar instead of white (I'm sure either is good). Also, when you roll it up, you can cut it at an angle and then press down with the back end of a knife on the short end (imagine a short side with two 45' angles out to the long side) to squish out the sides a bit - hope that makes some sense... http://i198.photobucket.com/albums/aa278/crudo20/Pulla.jpg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I am Finnish on my mothers side and she loves my pulla! I use my breadmaker to do the dough on the 2hour 25 min mode and i put in all the ingredients (extra cardamom!) as listed and then after bread had risen and gone thru 2 kneading cycle i add raisins for one more kneading cycle (otherwide they get chopped up) I then divide the dough as instructed and make the braided variety with the egg wash , and slivered almonds. So easy i make on the event day ie Christmas , Easter or whenver i need it, My family is always so happy i can do this as my mother is happy to have someone else do it! I love this pulla!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jules
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
PERFECT. This works with soy milk, which is what I used. My grandpa is a linguist and has done quite a bit of service in Finland, he knew exactly what this was when he saw it. I had some trouble in the mixing process-- no bread mixer, so didn't get as much beating into it as hoped, but it didn't cause any problems. 2nd stage of rising I put it in the oven @ 170 degrees F for about an hour. Beautiful bread. Oh, I cooked only one loaf at first, and it does NOT need 30 minutes.. it started getting too done at 24, I'm guessing 20-22 would've been even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 51-60 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Chef John's Dutch Baby

See how to make quick, easy, impressive Dutch babies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States