Finnish Pulla Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
not sure what this was supposed to taste like, but I tried to follow the recipe exactly, and it was delicious! Nice sweet bread that was just beautiful, and the recipe makes a TON!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I don't have anything to compare this to, and I have never had it before but I was very pleased with the results. I doubled the cardamon because it is such a wonderful spice and it still was very subtle in the bread. As another suggested, I topped with a glaze flavored with almond extract and then topped with slivered almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Addison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Love this recipe! My family truly enjoys this bread when I have made these. Very easy to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I too am of Finnish descent and have loved this bread since a child. I just added moer caramom to it as well. Thank you for sharing such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Markham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This bread is quite good. I didn't want to add more cardamom bc it is such a strong flavor, but I wish I had taken other reviewers' advice and done so anyway. This bread can handle it. It also does darken really fast, so keep an eye on it. I let mine bake a bit too long. I halved this recipe but still ended up with a large braid, and small braid, and enough to make a cinnamon sugar roll which was about the size of a regular loaf of bread. I like the cinnamon sugar roll the best, but it is all excellent. I think I might add cinnamon and more cardamom, plus raisins or craisins the next time I make this. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
When my grandma made nisu, I had the pleasure of being the only other person allowed in the kitchen. I didn't pick up the whole recipe (I was 4 at the time) so I've been spending the last year reconstructing grandma's nisu from memory. I discovered that if I roll the dough out into a rectangle, brush a little egg over it and cover it with a mix of cinnamon, cardamom, nutmeg and sugar before I roll it into a loaf to bake it comes out amazing. My friends have taken to calling it the bread crack. Haven't been able to get a loaf to last longer than 10 minutes yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I had never heard of cardamom before and it's one the neatest spices i've ever used. Unfortunately I have't been able to get it to come out quite right yet. I'm having trouble keeping it warm while it rises in the middle winter where I live.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oneonta, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This is absolutely amazing. Makes A LOT! Good for holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I think I saved this recipe right before Christmas and I've made it 4 times already! Everybody raves about this bread. I took the others' advice and have been adding 1tbsp of cardamom. I think that's the key. Also, I like making smaller braids so I've been cutting the dough into 18ths rather than 9ths. With the smaller braids, I turn the oven down to 325 degrees and cook for about 25 minutes. Instead of the egg wash and sugar, I baste the bread every 10 minutes with some melted butter and in the last 5 minutes sprinkle some mexican sea salt over the bread. I've also done a garlic butter baste with fresh minced garlic. That turned out really tasty. To keep the bottoms from burning I spread corn meal on the bottom of the cookie sheet. Thank you for this recipe! It goes great with just about anything, but we love it with soup and spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Time consuming, but very tasty! Makes great french toast too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Chef John's Dutch Baby

See how to make quick, easy, impressive Dutch babies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States