Finnish Pulla Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
When my grandma made nisu, I had the pleasure of being the only other person allowed in the kitchen. I didn't pick up the whole recipe (I was 4 at the time) so I've been spending the last year reconstructing grandma's nisu from memory. I discovered that if I roll the dough out into a rectangle, brush a little egg over it and cover it with a mix of cinnamon, cardamom, nutmeg and sugar before I roll it into a loaf to bake it comes out amazing. My friends have taken to calling it the bread crack. Haven't been able to get a loaf to last longer than 10 minutes yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I had never heard of cardamom before and it's one the neatest spices i've ever used. Unfortunately I have't been able to get it to come out quite right yet. I'm having trouble keeping it warm while it rises in the middle winter where I live.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oneonta, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This is absolutely amazing. Makes A LOT! Good for holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I think I saved this recipe right before Christmas and I've made it 4 times already! Everybody raves about this bread. I took the others' advice and have been adding 1tbsp of cardamom. I think that's the key. Also, I like making smaller braids so I've been cutting the dough into 18ths rather than 9ths. With the smaller braids, I turn the oven down to 325 degrees and cook for about 25 minutes. Instead of the egg wash and sugar, I baste the bread every 10 minutes with some melted butter and in the last 5 minutes sprinkle some mexican sea salt over the bread. I've also done a garlic butter baste with fresh minced garlic. That turned out really tasty. To keep the bottoms from burning I spread corn meal on the bottom of the cookie sheet. Thank you for this recipe! It goes great with just about anything, but we love it with soup and spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Time consuming, but very tasty! Makes great french toast too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
The time it took to make this was worth it! We had it Christmas Eve with dinner, and then used it to make french toast Christmas morning. Definitely a keepr
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansdale, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
We really like this bread. I LOVE cardamom and this bread is so soft. I followed another's advice and doubled the cardamom, which I am glad I did because I don't think I would have tasted it otherwise. I also made it into two large cinnamon roll logs and baked them on stoneware, I didn't have any problem with burning. They baked beautifully. We ate one of the logs and used the other for bread pudding, which was the best I have ever had. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Delicious! BUT BE CAREFUL with bottom burning! I guess I had it coming to me since I used different pans b/c I just moved and didn't have baking sheets so each loaf cooked a little differently. I burned some but not so bad that you can't eat it. The ones that didn't burn are amazingly delicious and soft! I read a review that said 350 for 30 min. instead of 400...I agree. I will def. try this next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Wow! This is remarkable. I had never tried Pulla before and now I'm hooked. It wouldn't be difficult to eat an entire loaf in one sitting. It took me a very long time due to the dough being slow to rise but it was well worth the effort. It turned out great. I used an egg wash with a little milk and sprinkled with sugar before I baked and after it came out I made a glaze of 1/4 c. sugar & 1/4 c. water heated on the stove and brushed the bread. Yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I'd never baked with cardamon before, but it really leaves a pleasant subtle flavor on your tongue. This bread is perfect for breakfast, or with a cup of coffee for an afternoon snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beamgal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washougal, Washington, USA
Living In: Camas, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States