Finnish Pulla Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
This bread is fantastic. Such a great flavor and just the right amount of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
I just got into baking, and this is actually the first bread I ever made, and it still turned out amazing! I ended up using Cinnamon instead of cardamon, but thats ok because I have a love obsession with Cinnamon! While preparing I didn't realize that the ingredients were set for 3 loaves! That's going to be too much for 2 people people to eat, hopefully we can find someone to give at least one of the loaves to. Also, I let it rise 2 times naturally, then put it in the fridge overnight and it rose again. Someone told me that the best taste comes out that way. I highly suggest people cook it at 350 for 30-35 minutes. At 400 the crust bakes too fast, and it can actually remained uncooked inside! After the first loaf I adjusted my temperature and the rest came out perfect. They turned out with a nice shell, but it wasn't too hard. The inside was nice and soft, but still thick and not overly fluffy. It had a sweet taste, and it looks beautiful too. Its actually very easy to tear off into portions instead of cutting because of the braided portions, and I feel like this would go really well with a holiday dinner instead of baking traditional biscuits. I highly recommend,and hope I find more yummy bread recipes ^.^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bluesnow

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I've lived in Finland for the past 13 years, and this is very close to the recipe I've always used to make pulla. If you can get fresh yeast, you can substitute 50g (about 2 ounces) of fresh yeast for the dry yeast. You can also use this dough to make just about any shape you want. I usually bake it as individual buns, topped with pearl sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Tämä on aika hyvä kahvileivät, samanlainen kuin isoäidin This is pretty good, similar to my grandmother's, I ground the cardamon pods in the spice grinder, and doubled the amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smyliee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
not sure what this was supposed to taste like, but I tried to follow the recipe exactly, and it was delicious! Nice sweet bread that was just beautiful, and the recipe makes a TON!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I don't have anything to compare this to, and I have never had it before but I was very pleased with the results. I doubled the cardamon because it is such a wonderful spice and it still was very subtle in the bread. As another suggested, I topped with a glaze flavored with almond extract and then topped with slivered almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Addison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Love this recipe! My family truly enjoys this bread when I have made these. Very easy to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I too am of Finnish descent and have loved this bread since a child. I just added moer caramom to it as well. Thank you for sharing such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Markham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This bread is quite good. I didn't want to add more cardamom bc it is such a strong flavor, but I wish I had taken other reviewers' advice and done so anyway. This bread can handle it. It also does darken really fast, so keep an eye on it. I let mine bake a bit too long. I halved this recipe but still ended up with a large braid, and small braid, and enough to make a cinnamon sugar roll which was about the size of a regular loaf of bread. I like the cinnamon sugar roll the best, but it is all excellent. I think I might add cinnamon and more cardamom, plus raisins or craisins the next time I make this. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States