Finnish Pulla Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I followed the oven temp.that it called for and the bread burned. So i lowered the temp to 350 and it still burned on the bottom,what a disaster.I can't be the only one this happened to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
What an awesome bread for holiday parties! I baked two loaves for a party tonight and they were gone in no time before they got cold! Add more milk than the recipe calls for, otherwise it is rock hard. I made this twice and added more milk the second time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Narae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Thanks to my Finnish maternal grandmother and her friends, I grew up on this delectable stuff, but, what's with the Christmas thing? We ate pulla all year 'round when I was a kid. Gramma would always have a few loaves in the freezer (it freezes well) for our use, and for when friends would drop in for afternoon coffee. I've made it on several occasions myself, but, even though it CAN be made without cardamom, it just doesn't taste right without it, and cardamom is SO expensive, so, because of that, I haven't made it in quite a while. (The next time I do, though, in addition to loaves, I want to make a few pulla pretzels with any left over dough. The rolls that my Gramma used to make with left over dough are SO boring!) Also, making pulla is pretty much an all-day project, so you have to allow for that. BTW, for those of you who haven't tried it, I'd like to suggest eating pulla toasted. OMG! Toasted pulla is one of THE most DELICIOUS foods you'll EVER put in your mouth! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
It was delicoius
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I have been looking for this recipe for years! It taste just like I remember but I use Cardamom seeds and not the ground. So happy I finally found it, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
This pulla recipe is the same as her mother-in-law would make and it's the one I was taught to make as a child. During the winter months I make a single or double batch every weekend (I give a few loaves away regularly) and I have yet to have one last long enough to get notably stale. Kneading 18 cups of flour gets easier eventually. This bread is a staple and as the washes go, we use a whole egg and sprinkle a bit of sugar and almond slivers before the loaves go into the oven. I use quite heavy baking sheets and thirty minutes at 350F gives me perfectly golden brown loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I have been making pulla for years now,like my grandmother i like to hull white cardamon pods, crush them and when warming the milk you let the cardamon steep in it .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
awsome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
This is a delicious bread that our family has loved for years, northern Minnesota is prominently of Finnish orgin and you find Finnish Bisquit aka (Pulla) everywhere. I have been making this for years, and have found that if you use whole milk, and real butter, and knead it till it shines, you will get a perfect bisquit, also reduce your oven temp to 350, and you can actually make 5 smaller braids out of the dough. I also brush with egg and sprinkle with lump sugar before baking. It is wonderful fresh with butter, and also delicious toasted with coffee in the morning! I usually add just a little more than a teaspoon of cardamom, the fresher the better, you can find cardamom already ground at whole foods coops which are really reasonably priced, and very fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Delicious! This recipe was spot-on. I doubled the cardamom and changed the baking time to 30 minutes @ 350. The bread had a light crust and a too-good-to-be-true moist center. It tore right off the loaf. This strikes me as a great King Cake recipe as well. The amount of dough made could easily be rolled up into that South Louisiana confection. I think next time I'll try adding cinnamon and sugar between the twists of the loaf to give it more of the King Cake feel. Overall, this is an excellent bread to know how to make. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States