Finnish Pulla Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
this bread was perfect! sweet, creamy, with a little bit of crust on the top. the aromatic qualities are unforgettable. thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ozark, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
very good. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This bread was delicious. But I did bake the first loaf at 400 degrees for 25 minutes and it was way too dark. The next loaves I baked for 30 minutes at 350 degrees and they were perfect. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I have always made Pulla rolls at Christmas. My parents are Finnish, and my mother taught me this recipe at a young age. I can't imagine Christmas without it. Like I read before, roll out, butter, sugar and cinnamon, roll, cut and bake. With parchment paper, you don't have to worry about the sugar burning on your bake ware, and there is less chance of the bottom burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
Good recipe. I've been looking for one like this for a while now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
Yum yum yum....this recipe converted me..now I'm a huge fan of cardamom. I followed the advice of others and increased the cardomom to 1 heaping tablespoon, makes it great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nhu-y

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Wonderful! I put sliced almonds on top before baking along with the granulated sugar and it was beautiful as well as delicious. Unless you have a large kitchenaid, try making half a recipe for a more manageable size. I got 4 loaves out of the whole recipe and 2 when I halved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
This is a great recipe.YUM!!! Here are a couple of tips to make it taste more like it does in Finland: 1. Use king Arthur white flour - huge difference in texture. (closest thing I have found outside of Finland that matches their flour) 3.use much more Cardamom than 1tsp 4.add a very tiny dash of vanilla 5.consider making small pullas, same baking time- these are more "foolproof" and are likely to bake more evenly (roll into a pall/patty roughly golf ball size) you can add different things to each- a sugar cube in the middle, dried fruits etc. 6.also, you can always add a little more butter to the dough- while not healthy it is delicous and makes it a little more moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
Great recipe! 1 Tbsp cardamom is essential to bring out the flavour and smell. It seems like a lot and the initial smell is overpowering but when cooked becomes a more subtle. Definitely, watch the oven. The tops were slightly burnt after 25 min but unharmed otherwise. I would bake for 20 min next time. Without the cardamom, the dough recipe lends the right texture to making cinnamon rolls or monkey bunch bread. A versatile recipe. Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
I was looking for a sweet bread recipe and I came across this. It is the best. I will make this again and again.It has the perfect texture and sweetness. I'm happy I found this. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States