Finnish Pulla Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
I've made this bread several times and it always gets rave reviews, even from my Finnish mom, and takes me back to when my Mummo (grandmother) used to make it when I was a child. The only things I did differently was double the cardamom, and I melted the butter and added it at the same time as the milk, instead of adding it separately later. I probably only use about 8 cups of flour. I also bake it at a much lower temperature because otherwise it will definitely burn (I need a baking stone...) I am surprised by people who found it dry, because it's not. It freezes very well, too. Delicious, and well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing this recipe, I visit a lovely lady from Finland as she has no family here in New Zealand. She lives in a resthome for elderly and I am looking forward to taking some of this special bread for her on Christmas Eve. She is 87 years old and has a brilliant memory and has shared her memories of Xmas in Finland as a child with me. First i will take heer to visit her husbands grave and then we will go home for coffee and Pulla..Merry Xmas to you all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
The Finnish side of my man's family has some useful variations. Warm the oven at 200, then turn off the oven just before putting the batter/dough in to rest/rise. In addition to the 2 later dough-raising times, also put the first-stage batter (after the first 2 cups of flour) in the warmed oven for 20 minutes. I added my own tweaks as well. I roll out each third of dough and sprinkle with brown sugar and my own pumpkin pie spice consisting of cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg, ginger, and the lovely and talented cardamom. In addition, I put cooked cranberry in one, and carob chips in another. I make the egg wash with honey instead of sugar. One batch gives me one big loaf, eight mini loaves, and 3 or 4 tart pans of pinwheels. One bugaboo I had was that even though I used parchment and baked only 18 minutes at 350 before egg wash, then 5 more minutes, I still got a little burn on bottoms and sides, depending on where in the oven it was. Also, I cannot stress enough that you must be ready to devote a lot of time. If I start at 3pm, I do not finish until 9:30, but it is sooooo very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, New York, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I did try this recipe (have made other recipes for pulla before) and it turned out wonderfully. I made 3/4 of the recipe and made 6 little braids that look so cute. In fact, one pan is still in the oven. Both my husband and I are 100% Finnish, so we grew up with this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
I use more than one tablespoon of cardamom. I purchase the black cardamom seeds from the spice store and grind them in the blender or coffee grinder just before I need it for this recipe. The pre-ground that you purchase in the grocery store has no flavour compared to fresh ground. Try it! It takes the pulla to a whole new level of yumminess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Very good! I did decrease the butter to 1/3 c and the sugar to 3/4 c. This was more than enough. It does make a lot of bread, so be prepared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericksonpad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
doubled the cardamom. loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Great recipe! To make it a little bit healthier I use 3 whole wheat flour and the remaining 6 unbleached flour. It always turns out great. Be sure to use the correct temperature of water for the yeast otherwise it will not rise properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I made this as gifts for my kids teachers. We enjoyed this so much we couldn't stop eating it. I made six half loaves instead of three big loaves. I just kept a close eye while they were baking. I baked the half loaves at 350 for about 20 min. This will definitely be put in my book for next year. Wonderful holiday bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
My Finnish grandmother would be MORTIFIED to see this recipe all over the Internet, she always said the only way I could share it was if I married someone non-Finnish whose mother wanted the recipe!! As far back as I can remember, I have made this recipe with my mother and grandmother for Christmas. My mother perfected it and I am happy to carry the torch (I'm a mere 25% Finnish - Finnish enough to make cardamom bread!), especially now that both my mother and grandmother are no longer with us. This recipe is VERY close to the one we always make and has ALWAYS been a huge hit with friends and coworkers at the holidays. Everyone always asks for the recipe and we've always said "sorry, family secret." One small tweak: we always used FRESH cardamom and grind ourselves (I use a coffee grinder, my mother would put in a baggie and smash with a meat tenderizer, my favorite part besides beating the dough when I was little!). The best part is you'll have leftover cardamom to put in coffee the morning after Christmas when you enjoy a nice piece of bread with your coffee. We add a little frosting made of powdered sugar and a tiny bit of milk, drizzle over a cooled fresh loaf and garnish with sliced almonds and maraschino cherries. YUM!! Love that I am not the only Finnish American out there who enjoys this for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States