Finnish Pulla Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
My sister makes this every Christmas. I finally got her to give me her recipe, and it is exactly as this one. Hers was in Finnish and our Dad had to translate it for us. I am making pulla right now as I type this. Wonderful !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Oja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lilola
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I made this today and everyone loved it. I only used 3/4 of each ingredient since I thought 9 cups of flour is too much. I also had to leave the dough rise for 2hrs, then punched it down and let it rise for another hour. I braided it and let it rise for another hour before baking. I brushed with butter and baked at 375 for about 30mins. Even after cutting and let it sit out for a few hours, the bread was soft and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I'm 16 and wanted to suprise my Finnish family that was coming for christmas. The recipe was easy to follow and worked amazingly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
This recipe is almost exactly the one my Grandma used to make cardamom biscuit. My Mummu (other side of the family) called it pulla or nissu. My mummu came over in 1895, her husband in 1899. My other grandparents were born here, but their parents came in the 1870's. Where I grew up, if the neighbors inviited you to come sauna on Saturday nght, you brought your own towels and pajamas--who would want to put your dirty clothes back on when you had just gotten all clean--and had coffee or milk and cardamom biscuit after sauna. My husband thought it odd the first time we went sauna at the neighbors at the lake and I brought pajamas. Good thing--they already had pajamas and robes on when we arrived.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RobTanner
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Very nice soft texture sweet bread. It does burn easily so I did 400 for 5 minutes to get a nice oven spring, then reduced to 350 for 20 minutes. Like others doubled up on the spice and added 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon, and 1/2 cup raisins. Winter here, so kitchen is a little cool... let dough rise in a slightly warm oven and it does take a little longer than in the reciepie. Really nice and likely something we will include in our Christmas recipes to drop off as hostess gifts...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RobTanner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
I've made this bread several times and it always gets rave reviews, even from my Finnish mom, and takes me back to when my Mummo (grandmother) used to make it when I was a child. The only things I did differently was double the cardamom, and I melted the butter and added it at the same time as the milk, instead of adding it separately later. I probably only use about 8 cups of flour. I also bake it at a much lower temperature because otherwise it will definitely burn (I need a baking stone...) I am surprised by people who found it dry, because it's not. It freezes very well, too. Delicious, and well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing this recipe, I visit a lovely lady from Finland as she has no family here in New Zealand. She lives in a resthome for elderly and I am looking forward to taking some of this special bread for her on Christmas Eve. She is 87 years old and has a brilliant memory and has shared her memories of Xmas in Finland as a child with me. First i will take heer to visit her husbands grave and then we will go home for coffee and Pulla..Merry Xmas to you all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
The Finnish side of my man's family has some useful variations. Warm the oven at 200, then turn off the oven just before putting the batter/dough in to rest/rise. In addition to the 2 later dough-raising times, also put the first-stage batter (after the first 2 cups of flour) in the warmed oven for 20 minutes. I added my own tweaks as well. I roll out each third of dough and sprinkle with brown sugar and my own pumpkin pie spice consisting of cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg, ginger, and the lovely and talented cardamom. In addition, I put cooked cranberry in one, and carob chips in another. I make the egg wash with honey instead of sugar. One batch gives me one big loaf, eight mini loaves, and 3 or 4 tart pans of pinwheels. One bugaboo I had was that even though I used parchment and baked only 18 minutes at 350 before egg wash, then 5 more minutes, I still got a little burn on bottoms and sides, depending on where in the oven it was. Also, I cannot stress enough that you must be ready to devote a lot of time. If I start at 3pm, I do not finish until 9:30, but it is sooooo very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, New York, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I did try this recipe (have made other recipes for pulla before) and it turned out wonderfully. I made 3/4 of the recipe and made 6 little braids that look so cute. In fact, one pan is still in the oven. Both my husband and I are 100% Finnish, so we grew up with this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
I use more than one tablespoon of cardamom. I purchase the black cardamom seeds from the spice store and grind them in the blender or coffee grinder just before I need it for this recipe. The pre-ground that you purchase in the grocery store has no flavour compared to fresh ground. Try it! It takes the pulla to a whole new level of yumminess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Chef John's Dutch Baby

See how to make quick, easy, impressive Dutch babies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States