Finnish Nissua Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
i will try this recipe though i have made "pulla" before. I do think though that the temp of 400deg. may be too hot for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Was really good! Did not use cardamom. Brushed loaves with beaten egg white before baking, and added cinnamon sugar to the top. Only baked 26 minutes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Choojy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This recipe is very similar to the one that has been handed down through family for generations now. A few suggestions I have make it take longer but add a lot. 1. Let rise and knead down two more times for a total of 3 rises. 2.After braiding put in a prepared loaf pan instead of sheet pan, braid should not fill more than 1/3 of the loaf pan. 3. After baking brush a coffee glaze over the top consisting of roughly 50/50 warm coffee and confectioners sugar then frost when cooled. If left unfrosted with just coffee glaze over top it makes excellent toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
I used to live in Mentor, Ohio. I have a finnish friend that would take me to the finnish bakery. I this Nissue bread the original Nissue bread baked in Finland? I bread I would buy was extremely sweet, and would take a very long time to prepare. The bread I made does taste somewhat like I used to buy in Ohio, however, something is missing. I truly loved this recipe and the bread. Anymore Finnish bread lovers out there that are will to share other Finnish breads. I bake speciality breads for a living, as Iam now a disabled Veteran. I have hundreds of bread recipes that I created. Iam in the process of writing a bread book, only breads, many many different types of breads. Iam a Premier member of a cooking club based out of Minnetonks,MN. I also belong to the Nation's oldest Cookbook Publisher! They have everything, and every idea for writing a cookbook you could think of. Enough of my goings on. Again, the recipe was great! Thank you. Sincerely, Kahledavid1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
If you grind the cardamom using the pods instead of using already ground cardamom you will get a stronger flavor and won't have to use more than a teaspoon. Also using a glaze does give a better flavor than a frosting and you can then toast the bread for breakfast and you won't be as likely to set your toaster on fire. That's how I grew up eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Traditionally, Nisu (Pulla) is not frosted. Instead, after it is braided and has risen and just before baking, brush the loaves with a beaten egg white and sprinkle with Pearl Sugar (available at IKEA) which is a coarse decorator sugar. Also, pre-ground cardamom does not hold a lot of flavor. Instead, buy whole-seed cardamom and grind it yourself with a mortar and pestle or a coffee grinder. It will be much more flavorful, and 1 teaspoonful will be plenty for this recipe. 1/2 teaspoon of freshly ground cardamom may even suffice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This is the first time I've ever tried to make bread, and it turned out amazing! Its just the right texture, though I did double up on the cardamom and I added half a teaspoon of cinnamon. It is the perfect kind of sweet for a bread, and they looked good coming out of the oven. It did take me almost 5 hours to make this bread, but this could be due to the fact that this is my very first time making bread. Overall this is an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
My husband's grandparents were Finnish. My FIL said that is one of his favorite memories from his mom is the bread that she made during the holidays. Well no one in the family has made the bread since she pasted away, until I came along. Last year was the first time I made this and everyone said it was great. The only thing I did differently is poured double boiled coffee over the bread and sprinkled sugar. It was prefect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I'm a pretty experienced bread baker and made this exactly per the recipe. Wow! Pretty tasteless. Way too little salt, but even accounting for that there is nothing special here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fewmets
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I used to eat a lot of nisu in the UP of Michigan. I brushed my loaves with egg wash and sprinkled them with sugar. Delicious. Thanks for the recipe! P.S. This bread makes GREAT French toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States