Finnish Nissua Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
Easier recipe to follow for the Cardomen bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
Tried many nissua recipe's for my husband, this by far was the best, even my Finnish mother-in-law thought it great. I did have to use 1 more cup of flour than it called for. I also made 2 braided loave's and 1 cinnamon loaf, the cinnamon loaf was my husband's favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
This turned out to be an excellent recipe. It's as good or better than either my mother or grandmother made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
This turned out excellent! Next time I will only frost the first and wrap the others well & frost later. It does dry out very fast. (Canuck is my married name, I'm Suomi:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2004
I added 2 T. gluten and 2 T. dry milk powder (for sweetness). I also added twice as much cardamom as the recipe asks for because I really wanted to be able to taste it. This recipe isn't difficult to make and looks lovely when it's done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I have made this for gifts and have brought to Christmas partys. In using it for the partys...I split the frosting up and die them green and red and drizzle over the top. Looks very festive. I find it tastes best the same day, so it has to be made and eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcjj

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
This is absolutely delicious! I braided the loaves into wreaths and they look spectacular. As many mentioned, I did add about another cup of flour (but, I live in Portland, OR, and it was very humid the day I baked it). The frosting was a nice addition, but not at all necessary - the bread alone is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2002
This was FABULOUS. My husband has been begging me to make the bread his Grandmother had made in his childhood. This is the best Nissua recipe yet - a keeper for sure. The only thing he said was that there should be more cardamom. I made 1 loaf regular, and made 2 into cinnamon-raisin loaves to share with the neighbors. It recieved rave reviews there also. Thanks so much for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELFINDANCER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
It was so great to find this recipe. I grew up on this bread from my Finnish mother and Grandmother. Since they have both passed away, I have been looking for a recipe for this bread, but the closest I've found until now is Challah bread. My Grandmother made it both with and without the cardamon and I like it much better without. It is great unfrosted or topped with just an egg wash and sugar and then toasted with butter for breakfast and it also makes a great french toast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This recipe has become a holiday tradition for me! The entire family loves it. The long prep time is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jpardi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kings Park, New York, USA
Living In: Huntington, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States