Finnish Nissua Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
The correct name is 'Nisu' or 'Pulla'. You may want to try them like this: after making and raising the dough, roll buns a bit larger than golf balls and let them rise for ca 15 mins. Then make a hole in the middle of the buns with your finger. Fill the holes with butter and cover the butter with some white sugar. Put some egg wash on the buns and bake them in the oven (375 degrees) for maybe 10 minutes. The beatiful brown color will tell you when they're done. Enjoy with a glass of cold milk, that's the proper Finnish way to do it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vihti, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2002
This was FABULOUS. My husband has been begging me to make the bread his Grandmother had made in his childhood. This is the best Nissua recipe yet - a keeper for sure. The only thing he said was that there should be more cardamom. I made 1 loaf regular, and made 2 into cinnamon-raisin loaves to share with the neighbors. It recieved rave reviews there also. Thanks so much for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELFINDANCER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
This is a great bread with a wonderful taste and a very good texture. I had a hard time choosing between 4 and 5 stars, but I settled on 4 because of a few minor issues that I have with the recipe. As a few people commented, I think it's better with double the cardamom, and I also had to increase the flour quite a bit (although I used all-purpose flour, so maybe that's why). But my biggest complaint is that the frosting looks kind of silly to me. Maybe I did something wrong, but it seemed to cover up the attractiveness of the bread, and lumpy things don't frost very well. Since I just made the bread for my family, it didn't really matter, but I think I'll have to experiment with the frosting to get it looking better. I'll probably try thinning it out into more of a glaze. UPDATE: I made this again and added more milk to the frosting to thin it out. The bread was much more attractive and was a huge hit with everyone who ate it! This is going into my permanent recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
Tried many nissua recipe's for my husband, this by far was the best, even my Finnish mother-in-law thought it great. I did have to use 1 more cup of flour than it called for. I also made 2 braided loave's and 1 cinnamon loaf, the cinnamon loaf was my husband's favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Have searched for 3 years for the perfect Nissu recipe and THIS IS IT! My bread came out identical to the picture above. I baked my bread on parchment paper on a cookie sheet for 21 minutes at 350 degrees and it was golden brown. I used my Mom's Glaze Recipe: 1 TBSP plus 1 Tsp of hot milk, 1/2 cup sifted confectioners sugar and 1/4 tsp. Vanilla Extract. I used a fine pastry brush for applying the glaze while it was still warm. This bread is a keeper! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe! I'd give it 10 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
Great recipe! I agree with those who recommended doubling the amount of cardamom...after all, that's what gives this bread its distinctive flavor! We prefer a bit less sweetness and omit the thick glaze. Instead, I mix 6 tablespoons of strong coffee with 6 tablespoons of sugar and brush this mixture on the loaves when they come out of the oven. When making these for Christmas, I'll sometimes brush with the coffee mixture, then sprinkle the loaves with red and green decorators sugar to make them festive. This bread is also great toasted and topped with cream cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanna_maki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrison, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I have made this for gifts and have brought to Christmas partys. In using it for the partys...I split the frosting up and die them green and red and drizzle over the top. Looks very festive. I find it tastes best the same day, so it has to be made and eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcjj

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fewmets
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I used to eat a lot of nisu in the UP of Michigan. I brushed my loaves with egg wash and sprinkled them with sugar. Delicious. Thanks for the recipe! P.S. This bread makes GREAT French toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
Easier recipe to follow for the Cardomen bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I just made these for the first time today and they are very tasty. In spite of the recommendations about doubling the amount of cardemom I didn't do this. I'm not a huge cardemom fan and was afraid it would be too strong for my taste. Now I wish I had. In spite of adding a teaspoon of cinnamon and one of cardemom the bread really could use more spice. But overall it's very good and easy recipe. Although not fast it's great for a day when you'll be at home anyhow. I omitted the 1/2 cup water to proof the yeast and used some of the milk mixture and still needed to add more flour than called for, but that was no big deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanne_NL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States