Finnish Meatballs (Lihapyorykoita) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
My family likes sauce so I doubled the sauce and added some salt and 1/2 tsp of Allspice to it. My very picky boys both ate it up. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki Langenburg Dieguez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
I absolutely love this dish, and so does everyone I feed it too. The Allspice really makes it. Although I have never used the whopping cream in this dish, always just the milk we have in the fridge, it turns out delectable every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Amazing how flavorful these meatballs were with such few ingredients. My only recommendation is to chop the onion really finely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Made it as instructed, and it was delicious. Served over egg noodles with a side of mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
The meatballs taste unique but the milk gravy was kind of bland - not worth the fat...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
This recipe is exactly like the dish I had in Finland at a host home on my last trip, it's wonderful exactly as presented, simple, good healthy, comfort food. Served with some wide noodles, oh my...very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth32

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Yarmouth, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
My mother (yes she is finnish) use to make these all the time and they are great !!! did not change a thing allthough they are not as good as moms but are they are very close !! my mom does something diffrent and she wont tell me ! LOL maybe someday thanks again !!!! will make again for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marysville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
These are easy to make, I had all the ingredients in the house, and they were amazing. Pretty much exactly like Swedish köttbullar. I added potatoes, and forgot the veggies, but that was okay. :D Everyone loved them and they were gone in no time! I made them start to finish in a classic cast iron skillet. Little mess and little cleanup. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swaswa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Squamish, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
OMG amazing wonderful flavor my dughter loved it and was truly happy that she helped me with our Sunday meal:)Thank you for sharing the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmont, New York, USA
Living In: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Excellent! Very easy to make! This is a five-star without any changes. My kids complained about the onions even though it was minced. Next time I will just put onion powder. I would prefer to make smaller meatballs next time, like the size you find at IKEA. We put the meatballs and gravy over the mashed potatoes. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States