Finnish Kropser (Baked Pancakes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
TEMPERATURE ALERT!!! this recipe really needs to be edited, the temp is listed way too high. i had to scrap mine and make french toast for the kids instead...i used to make a smaller amount version of this pancake in a skillet, and believe me its one of the most interesting, easiest breakfasts out there. im definetly going back to this one, but next time with a lower temp..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
I accidently made this the first time in a 9x9 pan and it was burnt on the edges and raw in the middle. The second time I noticed the 9x13 indicated in the recipe and the results were great...delicous and a nice change from regular pancakes. I added some vanilla to the batter and baked at 400 for almost 40 minutes to avoid burning, as recommended by others. Served with choices of syrup, mixed fruit, or powdered sugar...all of which were great accompaniments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
SOOOOO GOOOD! I haven't been able to find a homeaide pancake recipe that I like, so I decided to try something new and I went with this recipe and man am I glad I did! I took the suggestions from other reviewers and baked it at 400 for 40 minutes and it turned out perfect :) Thanks for a great recipe, it is going to be hard to make regular pancakes from here on out, lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabitha King

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
beat by hand, cut recipe down to feed 8 and baked in a cast Iron skillet. I cooked it for 20 minutes at 400 and it's perfect. Just perfect. Bearing in mind that everyone's oven can be different, I opted for a lower temp because I can always cook it longer if necessary. I suggest that you use your best judgment when you go to bake it. I topped it with blueberry preserves and it was a great hit. I'll make this regularly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
I learned to make this a long time ago from a friend's mother. It is even better with blueberries stirred into the batter. You can reduce the sugar by quite a bit as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
I am sooo excited! My muma made this for me when I was a child. I've always wanted the recipe but never knew how to spell it! lol! She died when I was only 9 so I couldn't ask her. Thank you so much it will bring back such wonderful memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MimiSr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
This was definitely good, but the fifth star is because it was so easy rather than for taste. I'd never had Kropser before, so I have no basis for comparison. It seemed to me like a cross between a very firm custard and a popover. As written, I thought there was too much butter - melted butter pooled on the top and its flavor dominated. The second time I halved the butter (2 TBSP) and liked it much more. The edges puffed up really high, but the middle stayed flat like a basket, so you can fill with fruit for an attractive presentation. Maple syrup was also good, and I cut up some of the flat middle section into small squares, topped with jam, and served them like cakes. It was good both hot and cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
This turned out as good as the other reviewers said it was. It did burn some on the edges even with the temp turned to *425. My family loved it with or w/out powered sugar and syrup.It's nothing like a pancake. It is thick with hills and valleys and a creamy texture. Very, Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atwater, California, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Made this for dinner-for-breakfast because I am terrible with fried pancakes, and my husband begged for it for breakfast that weekend. It made a "crust" on the top and bottom around the custardy middle, so good! I used half white / half wheat flour so it was dense but delicious. I also altered the temp as other reviewers have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarksville, Indiana, USA
Living In: New Albany, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I was taught this recipe by my Mumu and my Aiti (mom). It is wonderful. We call it Pannukakku (oven pancake) I usually cook it at 425 degrees. If I put any pans of it on the bottom rack they will likely burn, so if I am making more than two I will rotate the bottom and top racks ever 10 min. The main difference with your recipe is that I use about half of the flour (or double the ratio of eggs). To make four pie plate pancakes I use 9 eggs and about two cups of flour. The batter should be runny, the consistency of heavy cream. I use only about 3/4 cup of sugar for the whole batch. Extra flour makes it less light, and less likely to puff in the middle as well as the sides. It still tastes good though! Also, if you want anyone to see the stunning puffs, have the diners assemble when you bring it immediately to the table...it falls quickly. I have always had these with strawberry or cloudberry jam. They are extra special with fresh whipped cream. Maple syrup does taste fine though, as does just a tad of confectioner's sugar and a squeeze of lemon. I generally add vanilla, which is not traditional, just good. Remember it is supposed to brown just a bit, the browned butter crispy edges are the best part!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kid-Friendly Pancakes with Berry Topping

Kids love helping to make these pancakes with warm berry topping.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States