Finnish Kropser (Baked Pancakes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
This was great! Very easy to make and very yummy also. I lowered the heat to 425 and cooked it about the same time. (30 mins) Came out nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This was outstanding! Not only was it a breeze to prepare, it was delicious. I loved the texture - kinda pancakey, kinda something else (glutenous) I can't quiet put my finger on (maybe Mochi?). Was very much like a dutch baby I prepare for my kids, but I actually liked this better. I did two things differently - 1.) I added a tsp of vanilla because I always do for all pancake-type batters regardless of whether it asks for it or not and 2.) I cooked mine at 350 for 30 minutes since I know my oven well enought to know that it cooks hot and fast. 450 degrees for 30 minutes would have charred my food. Make sure you keep watch. The edges have a tendency to get brown/crispy very fast. It was my favorite part, but you wouldn't want to eat it burnt. I ate it both alone and with a little bit of triple crown preserves. My kids ate it with pancake syrup. It's perfectly sweet and wonderful with out anything though. I'll stick this in my monthly rotation of weekend breakfasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I can't believe how easy this is to make! I made it back to back days and the family loved it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Loved it! It`s a cross between French toast and pancakes, but a nice change from both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Excellent and simple...I used this recipe for the pancake and the buttermilk sauce/syrup recipe from the German Pancake with Buttermilk Sauce from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
My Mom made this quite often, however we called it "Unni Pannukakku" - everything else is the same, but we put it in a castiron frypan and baked in the oven. so good that I could eat the whole thing myself. I'm wondering if the person who submitted this is Finnish or not? Also after reading all the reviews, yes the temperature should be dropped after 15min down to 350 for 45. min so it isn't black on the edges!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I made this for my guys and they both liked it and said they could eat it again. However I don't know where the originater decided it was enough to serve 24 people. I got 8 servings out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fancy Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Clatskanie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This was so amazing! I made it for lunch and it was gone almost as soon as it was out of the oven. I didn't have any problems with the temperature setting or the time that it was cooked. It worked just fine for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Love it! Like others, I turned down the temp to 400, added less butter (3 Tablespoons) but I did spray the whole pan with nonstick cooking spray, and added some vanilla (about a 2 teaspoons). Be careful of it rising, it about doubles in height.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
I always add blueberries to this recipe and it comes out amazing every time. My husband likes it even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carleezank

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kid-Friendly Pancakes with Berry Topping

Kids love helping to make these pancakes with warm berry topping.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States