Finnish Kropser (Baked Pancakes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This is an old original recipe from the BIG E fair. It is excellent, moist and tasty. Do not change one single thing in this recipe. Fantastic as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Ive made this several times and my family adores it! We love sweet crepes on weekend mornings but they are sooooo time consuming and messy, these give that "custardy" texture of the crepes without all of the work! Yay! I add 1 tsp vanilla and I think its important. 400* is best and it only serves my family of 5. I also tried to increase the puff by adding baking powder and it actually makes it puff less. This recipe is perfect as is! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Fat~Dog~Lane*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Nevada, USA
Living In: Spanish Springs, Nevada, USA
Photo by TRE8JSE
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
These are so different, and so good! I made them this morning for breakfast and was not disappointed. It would be a 5 star recipe, except for the cooking temp. and time. I baked mine at 400 degrees for 40 minutes and it was perfect. Just a little side note: Cook it the whole 40 minutes and don't remove it from the oven. If your like me, and think that the top looks golden brown, and decide to take it out...Well, don't. :) I took mine out and it completely flattened, then I had to bake it some more. It still turned out good, but it wasn't as interesting after it stopped rising. Thanks for the recipe! I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRE8JSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
FIVE STAR RECIPE! Amazing baked pancake! It was easy to make, but be sure to adjust the temperature. I baked mine at 400 degrees for 32 minutes and it turned out perfectly. I added a few blackberries to the batter and then sprinkled the top with powdered sugar when it was done. Incredibly good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
This was good and fairly close to what we had in Finland growing up. It is actually called pannukakku in Finnish. I followed other reviewer's suggestions and cooked it at 400, and it cooked very well. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This just may become my favorite breakfast. Oh! Em! Gee! So custardy-good. I added a couple heaping teaspoons of wheat germ to help improve the nutritional and sprinkled the top with a hardy helping of blueberries. So delicious. Everyone (but weight conscience me) went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I call this a German Pancake. Add a little (1/2tsp) almond extract to it. After its cooked squeeze some fresh lemon juice over it and sprinkle with powdered sugar....YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
So simple and so good. Baked 400 degrees 30-35 minutes in a 13x9 pan.. Only change I made was adding 1 t. vanilla. This is not a pretty dish but it is very flavorful for something so quick to throw together. Served with powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAISIN1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Made this for dinner-for-breakfast because I am terrible with fried pancakes, and my husband begged for it for breakfast that weekend. It made a "crust" on the top and bottom around the custardy middle, so good! I used half white / half wheat flour so it was dense but delicious. I also altered the temp as other reviewers have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarksville, Indiana, USA
Living In: New Albany, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This is a keeper - easy and delicious. Because other reviewers reported the temperature as flawed, I baked it at 400º for 40 minutes and it was perfect. We served this with Vermont maple syrup and it was excellent. This will definitely be in our weekend breakfast rotation. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Kid-Friendly Pancakes with Berry Topping

Kids love helping to make these pancakes with warm berry topping.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States