Finnish Kropser (Baked Pancakes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I loved this! I followed the suggestions in the comments and baked it at 400 for 40 minutes. I also topped it the way I had seen it made in a restaurant and put melted butter, powdered sugar, and lemon juice on top of it after baking. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Made this at the request of my granddaughter. She said it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
This is so good! Reminds me of Mom's pop-overs. The crusty edge pieces are amazing, but so is the custard-like middle. I've made it as-written(using the cooking time adjustment recommended by other reviewers) but last time I added a bunch of cinnamon and a diced granny smith apple and it was superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Tastes like a pancake but has an awesome custard texture to it. This was so good! We decided to have breakfast for dinner, so I went to work finding a recipe for pancakes & found this. So glad I tried it! Our 3 year old is currently eating her 3rd piece & she refuses to eat much of anything, so yes, I am pleased. I like this better than regular pancakes for a few reasons: 1) You don't have to stand over a hot stove to flip pancakes for 20- 30 minutes 2) less mess (no pouring batter on the stove) 3) stick it in the oven and go relax till the timer goes off (40 minutes @ 400 degrees) 4) Did I mention not having to stand over the hot stove? I have to admit I wasn't thinking clearly when I started, I accidently melted an entire stick of butter in the pan when I realized I only needed half of it. I just poured most of it off into a bowl to use later for eggs. I also (on purpose) added a teaspoon of vanilla extract. I think it gave it a great flavor. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Yummy! I did like others suggested and cooked this at 400degrees for 40 minutes. I also took another suggestion and added blueberries. One observation - this doesn't serve 24 if you are serving it as a meal. I served 4 kids and 1 1/2 adults and it was gone. My only complaint is that it was hard to cut. But I will definitely be making this again - thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I was taught this recipe by my Mumu and my Aiti (mom). It is wonderful. We call it Pannukakku (oven pancake) I usually cook it at 425 degrees. If I put any pans of it on the bottom rack they will likely burn, so if I am making more than two I will rotate the bottom and top racks ever 10 min. The main difference with your recipe is that I use about half of the flour (or double the ratio of eggs). To make four pie plate pancakes I use 9 eggs and about two cups of flour. The batter should be runny, the consistency of heavy cream. I use only about 3/4 cup of sugar for the whole batch. Extra flour makes it less light, and less likely to puff in the middle as well as the sides. It still tastes good though! Also, if you want anyone to see the stunning puffs, have the diners assemble when you bring it immediately to the table...it falls quickly. I have always had these with strawberry or cloudberry jam. They are extra special with fresh whipped cream. Maple syrup does taste fine though, as does just a tad of confectioner's sugar and a squeeze of lemon. I generally add vanilla, which is not traditional, just good. Remember it is supposed to brown just a bit, the browned butter crispy edges are the best part!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
My kids love these! Great with any topping you would put on a regular pancake. Have made these for guests multiple times and have gotten great feedback!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMcFadden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Plains, Oregon, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Fantastic and so much easier than regular pancakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I am happy to have found this recipe! My mom used to make these all the time and I have always loved them. She always served them with a good squeeze of lemon juice and a handful of brown sugar on top. Sounds weird, but is so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Delicious! I followed the recipe exactly and I used two 8 x 8 baking dishes. I took both out of the oven after 27 minutes as they were getting dark in the high spots even though they were light in the low spots. My kids ate this with strawberry jelly and they really liked it! We'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make classic diner-style pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States